Sunny Sunday

Yum! A Bacon and Egg Awakening!

Yum! A Bacon and Egg Awakening!

For the beers! Cheers!

In the years since the De Halve Maan brewery opened a bottling facility outside Bruges in 2010, the company’s faced a tricky logistics problem. It still brews beer at its original site downtown, just as it has for nearly five centuries. To get all that delicious beer to the new factory for filtration, bottling, and shipping, it uses trucks. Trucks that burn fuel, spew carbon and clog the city’s cobblestone streets (which surely froths all that beer).

No more. The city council has approved the brewery’s unusual but clever plan to save time and money while reducing emissions and congestion. It will build a pipeline to ferry the good stuff across town, underground. Yes, you read that right: A beer pipeline.

Instead of making the 3-mile drive in one of dozens of tankers that traverse town each day, the award-winning beer will flow through a 1.8-mile polyethylene pipeline, making the trip in 15 to 20 minutes. The pipeline will move 6,000 liters of beer every hour, De Halve Man CEO Xavier Vanneste told Het Nieuwsblad.

Beer Pipeline

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    Earplugs, the only answer to loud annoying neighbors when attempting sleep.
    Overcast skies this AM 70 expected with a gradual week-long warm up to the 90’s which will make their ugly return by next Saturday, I’m thinking that should be the last of it but who knows with weather. Snow reported on the mountain passes and 30’s in Tahoe, chilly up there.

    Lot’s of ground jittering going on in the Mammoth Lakes area, earthquake swarm they call it. It is a caldera with magma closer to the surface, I hope it stays down there.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Yes, beer in pipes.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    House to the west had several young men around a fire at 7 am.

    Like

  4. Den says:

    Off and on light rain, watching thirty buzzards (vultures) circling, now gone, no roadkill, yet, moved on.

    Like

  5. Den says:

    Sunny with poofy clouds, 65, Sierra Nevada, Flipside Red IPA currently rinsing the innards.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Ran out of SN, found a pint of Dogfish 75 Minute IPA, switch gears and rinse.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Yet another fantasy sunset with east and north pink and grey.

    Like

  8. º¿carol says:

    Going to paste the story I wrote for FaceBook about the dogs next door:

    NEIGHBOR DOGS STORY: The renter neighbor next door who moved in a few years ago acquired a puppy, a year later another puppy, two German Shepherds. He’s not a dog-lover, they stay out in the yard year round, in all weather. I’ve only ever seen him talk to, or pet one, twice. Dogs are probably starved for affection…good thing they have each other.

    So, even though there is a stockade fence, I walk along it and talk to them. I found a hole on the north side where two noses could appear at once. I started taking cookies and with two noses I knew they each got their fair share.

    Wednesday, no dogs in the yard. No dogs Thursday, Friday. Me, being me, was worried. Went over to the house today Saturday, knocked and _______ came to the door. “It’s me, your nosy neighbor, where’s Murdock and Hannibal?” He said they got out again and are gone. I was afraid of that. ___________doesn’t make sure the stockade fence is secure. I’m always telling him what needs repair. I’ve had to save Murdock and take him home 3 times over the years.

    This is why I’m writing this story. I asked him, “Did you call Animal Control in Mason?” Know what he said today, Saturday…dogs missing since Wednesday? _________ said, “No, not yet.” THE STRENGTH I HAVE TO NOT HAVE GRABBED HIM BY THE NECK AND….oh, well, life isn’t a movie so I didn’t grab him by the neck, lol.

    “______, did the dogs have collars on with their name and address on them?”

    No.

    Almost had to bite my tongue off so I wouldn’t say, “Please don’t get another dog. Please. You’re not a dog person.”

    I wonder if someone picked up the dogs and took them to the pound in Mason. A German Shepherd that looks like Rin Tin Tin. His cousin is a blondish, or fawn German Shepherd. I miss them, my friends.

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      One of my FB friends found the dogs last night at the pound in Mason via their website. I’m sure it’s them, a German Shepherd, and a Shepherd mix, no collars. I AM NOT TELLING MY NEIGHBOR! If he actually goes there it will cost him a fortune to bail them out. It’s $30 per day, per dog and by tomorrow they would have been there 7 days.

      30×7=210 x2 = $420. Plus whatever other fees, like giving them shots, or maybe a fine for not having a license. I doubt they are licensed dogs.

      I’m so happy the dogs may end up with a nice home. One with a human to love them, to play with them, to talk to them.

      Like

  9. º¿carol says:

    I am never sick. I’m one of the healthiest people you’ve ever known. If I catch something, it’s a cold and usually mild.

    My throat has been acting funny the past 8 hours. It’s almost like a soar throat, prior to not being able to swallow because of strep. I had a LOT of strep in my youth. I took three echinacea around 10:00 p.m., will continue the treatment tomorrow.

    And Den, I am not going to gargle with peroxide!

    Like

  10. Den says:

    Channel 087 for all you Dish Network viewers for a real scary TeeVee shopping.

    Like

  11. Den says:

    Over and out to sheepland!

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

