Oil-Soaked Thursday

????????

As you read this, a monster of a bill is passing smoothly and quietly through Britain’s parliament. It’s so big and complex, and covers so many topics, that it makes a mockery of democracy.

The infrastructure bill epitomises the rising trend of legislation-stuffing: cramming so many unrelated issues into one bag that parliamentary votes become meaningless. MPs must either accept this great bundle of unrelated measures in its entirety or reject it in its entirety. So laws can pass which no one in their right mind would have voted for.

Bills like this are good places for burying bad news, and this one is a graveyard.

Among its outrageous and scarcely-debated provisions, slipped in by the government some time after parliamentary debates began, is a measure that undermines every claim it has made about preventing dangerous climate change. It is a legal obligation on current and future governments to help trash the world’s atmosphere.

George Monbiot @ THE GUARDIAN

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Oil-Soaked Thursday

  1. º¿carol says:

    Britain’s got the same problems we do, the rich and their corporations corrupting the government. I don’t understand the race to the choke us all, poison us all, end it all. That is escalating around the world.

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    Below zero here this morning. Lots of school closings. They don’t just call “snow days” for snow anymore, they do it if it’s cold out.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    A bit over 50 minutes of stick walking in the fog. That makes 130 minutes so far leaving but another 20 minutes for the weekly minimum. This is becoming too easy.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    I’ve been working on a spreadsheet of my family, relatives. My daughter-in-law has been pressuring me to give her the facts, genealogy, ya know. She knows her family lineage, wants ours so she has all that for her son, so he’ll know where he came from.

    I can only tell her back to my grandparents, and Bob’s, but no further. Our grandparents came here thru Ellis Island, no way to know who the parents of the grandparents were. No one left to ask. Wish my dad wouldn’t have died when I was 18. I had so much to ask him, things to talk to him about as I grew older. Oh, well.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    I’ve put on 8 pounds since Christmas! That’s ridiculous! DAMMIT! I’ve got to get serious. I was back to no beer this week, but I ended up having one Tuesday night and one Wednesday night. Plus I ate the damn Dove chocolate the past 3 nights. I had the beer because tea on an empty stomach nauseates me. So, have a beer with the tea, no nausea. 🙂

    I get another chance tonight to not drink beer, or eat chocolate.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    I drink a six-pack and don’t puff up too bad, I suggest, removing any corn syrup, starch and unknown ingredients from your diet first, stick to basics, use Lard, lots-O-water, the beer is not the problem, beer is food, purified and reduced to a liquid form, carbohydrates and sugars, it is the best health food there is, and to get rid of.

    Like

  7. Den says:

    Meanwhile back at the oil-soaked part of our program:

    Like

  8. Den says:

    1000mph Kit Car

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

