Zombie Cookie Thursday

1a

An online advertising clearinghouse relied on by Google, Yahoo and Facebook is using controversial cookies that come back from the dead to track the web surfing of Verizon customers.

The company, called Turn, is taking advantage of a hidden undeletable number that Verizon uses to monitor customers’ habits on their smartphones and tablets. Turn uses the Verizon number to re-spawn tracking cookies that users have deleted.

“We are trying to use the most persistent identifier that we can in order to do what we do,” Max Ochoa, Turn’s chief privacy officer, told ProPublica.

Turn’s zombie cookie comes amid a controversy about a new form of tracking the telecom industry has deployed to shadow mobile phone users. Last year, Verizon and AT&T users noticed their carriers were inserting a tracking number into all the Web traffic that transmits from a users’ phone 2013 even if the user has tried to opt out.

Users complained that the tracking number could be used by any website they visited from their phone to build a dossier about their behavior 2013 what sites they went to, what apps they used.

In November, AT&T stopped using the number. But Verizon did not, instead assuring users on its website that “it is unlikely that sites and ad entities will attempt to build customer profiles” using its identifiers.

When asked about Turn’s use of the Verizon number to re-spawn tracking cookies, a Verizon spokeswoman said, “We’re reviewing the information you shared and will evaluate and take appropriate measures to address.”

@ TRUTHDIG

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Zombie Cookie Thursday

  1. Den says:

    Try not to chip a tooth on one of those cookies.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Don’t like Verizon.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    About 60 minutes on the sticks with actual sunlight for the first 2/3rds. But after a late lunch, with a porter, @ the Birch & Barley, the rain clouds started gathering for tomorrow.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Nearly half the systems crucial to stability of planet compromised
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2015/01/150115163533.htm

    Crash is coming.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    50% rain tomorrow.

    Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    It’s pretty late but I’m checking in anyway. Been having speed problems with my new Exede internet since Tuesday. I’ve been sinking to dial-up speeds since Tuesday. Down from a high and almost a norm of 18 mbps to 0.16. I mean, MY DIAL-UP WAS 0.23. I’m even slower than that.

    Pete was over this morning so he called them for me, the girl on the line said everything checked out ok. Yes, speed was up from morning on up until 6:00 p.m. She told Pete to tell me to call them when the speed was actually down so they could see what was happening.

    Well, I called tonight when it was 0.17. She said everything looked okay, lots of people on Exede out in my area, taking up bandwidth. I told her this extreme drop in speed only started Tuesday. Although I feel I’ve been having an interrupted signal for quite some time now.

    The woman on the phone typed up my problem and said a tech guy would have to call me in the next 24 hours, whereas he’ll take over my computer to try to solve the problem. All I know is something is definitely wrong. I know my computer, I know my internet. Seriously, when I’m not at all my duties or watching a movie, I’m on this computer and the internet. I know when something is wrong.

    Finished one of my projects tonight. Time to relax, play a game. See you tomorrow.

    Like

  7. Den says:

    Weather guy sez lots of fog for the valley, above that here @1500 feet elev.
    Slo day 2-day ’round here, not like the old days

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

