Wed-nes-day Wednesday

1a

I have been researching and writing about anthropogenic climate disruption (ACD) for Truthout for the past year, because I have long been deeply troubled by how fast the planet has been emitting its obvious distress signals.

On a nearly daily basis, I’ve sought out the most recent scientific studies, interviewed the top researchers and scientists penning those studies, and connected the dots to give readers as clear a picture as possible about the magnitude of the emergency we are in.

This work has emotional consequences: I’ve struggled with depression, anger and fear. I’ve watched myself shift through some of the five stages of grief proposed by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance. I’ve grieved for the planet and all the species who live here, and continue to do so as I work today.

I have been vacillating between depression and acceptance of where we are, both as victims – fragile human beings – and as perpetrators: We are the species responsible for altering the climate system of the planet we inhabit to the point of possibly driving ourselves extinct, in addition to the 150 to 200 species we are already driving extinct daily.

Can you relate to this grieving process?

Dahr Jamail @ Truthout

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wed-nes-day Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    Auschwitz by drone
    The extermination continues today with roles reversed.

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    Dahr Jamail, haven’t seen that name in ages. I used to read his Iraq stuff after we invaded. I’ll read that piece later. Have to go cook, what’s gnu.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Somewhat better.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Maglite working. Thanks, Den.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    Quincy wants to play, again with the light but I told him no. “GO. TO. BED.” He keeps running in here, grabbing a new toy and taking it out to Bob. I’m going to have a bunch of stuff to put away later. That’s ok, as long as I don’t have to pick that damn laser light up one more time today.

    Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    It’s supposed to snow tonight, from around 1:00 a.m. until tomorrow 4:00 p.m. Ice, rain, snow….all of that. Of course, they’ve been wrong before.

    LOTS of sun today, one of my brand new solar lights that went to sleep this winter due to lack of sun was shining brightly when I took Q out for his last pee a little while ago. Also spotted one of the old ones, buried under snow by the back deck, glowing thru the snow. Cool!

    Like

  7. Den says:

    No snow here, quite the opposite, dry, too early to be doing this stuff, rain needed badly.

    Like

  8. Den says:

    Too crispy too early, might have to do a rain dance, if I knew how. 😦

    Like

  9. Den says:

    I know how to count sheep tho, baaa!

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

