Eco Brews Wednesday

(Love the music)

The beer brewing industry is a major economic driver in America, and it is already feeling the impacts of climate change. Leading breweries are finding innovative ways to integrate sustainability into their business practices and finding economic opportunity through investing in renewable energy, energy efficiency, water efficiency, waste recapture, and sustainable sourcing. To highlight the steps they are taking and issue a call to action to others, brewers are signing the Climate Declaration.

There are over 2,800 breweries in the U.S. responsible for $246.5 billion in economic output in 2012. Directly and indirectly, they create over 2 million American jobs. For every 1 job in a brewery, 45 indirect jobs are created in agriculture, transportation, distributing, business, packaging, machinery, and retail. When climate change disrupts the beer industry, it not only threatens our economy and jobs, it also threatens the future of great beer.

By signing the Climate Declaration, these breweries are showing their leadership and commitment to brewing with the climate in mind. They are already reducing greenhouse gas emissions, using less energy, choosing clean energy, and investing in new technologies. They are also recognizing that these practices help grow their business, create jobs and strengthen our economy.

@ CERES.org

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Eco Brews Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    Glad to see one of my favorites on the list:

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    14 hours in the sack.

    Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    “At this point I went 0 to 100 on the rage scale, why you ask?” Oh, I know what that rage must have been like. It’s the same here when I fuss about not letting things spill, or get knocked over….anything so I won’t have another job to do.

    Yours was a HUGE job though compared to anything I’ve had to put up with. My worst, eons ago, was I had a wall phone with a long cord and that was back when I was young, my kids small, I was on the phone in the kitchen and I had a Crisco can on the sink full of fat I poured off of things I cooked. I was lax somehow, didn’t see the phone cord was…well, you guess it. The big can went over the edge of the counter. OMG!!! I freaked out, burst into tears. What a horrible mess that was to clean up. After I was done and the floor was drying it had the best shine of its life.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    Hope you’re feeling better, Doc. Maybe the exercise isn’t all that good for ya.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    Den, hope your washer works ok after you put it back. Didn’t like the sound of the hammer on the agitator.

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I also wondered, once you saw where the little screw was, do you think it wouldn’t have hurt anything if you had left it there? Of course, you couldn’t have known where it went until you looked.

      Like

      • Den says:

        No telling if it would have got in and broke the pump or not but why chance it I thought.

        Like

        • Den says:

          I still need to go back in tho, I don’t recall securing one hose in the splash ring which doubles as the bleach spout and water recirculator, dammit.

          Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Is beer to be the salvation of the world?

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Count llamas instead:
    Http:www.flyingllamas.com
    Its safer.

    Like

  8. Den says:

    Now time to sleep minus sheep, zzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

