Deep Saturday Reading

naom_chomsky

For decades, Noam Chomsky has been one of the most prominent critics of U.S. foreign policy, and the further left one travels along the political spectrum, the more one feels his influence. Although I agree with much of what Chomsky has said about the misuses of state power, I have long maintained that his political views, where the threat of global jihadism is concerned, produce dangerous delusions. In response, I have been much criticized by those who believe that I haven’t given the great man his due.
Last week, I did my best to engineer a public conversation with Chomsky about the ethics of war, terrorism, state surveillance, and related topics. As readers of the following email exchange will discover, I failed. I’ve decided to publish this private correspondence, with Chomsky’s permission, as a cautionary tale. Clearly, he and I have drawn different lessons from what was, unfortunately, an unpleasant and fruitless encounter. I will let readers draw lessons of their own.

@ SAM HARRIS

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Deep Saturday Reading

  1. David B. Benson says:

    Chomsky getting on.

    Like

  2. Den says:

    Aren’t we all? 🙂

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Party preparations @ the house to the west.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Den — How is the truck project going?

    Like

    • Den says:

      New wheels expected Monday, then the search for tires to fit, new lug nuts located in town, knob-style radio pursuit still in progress, junkyard run today yielded a rear view mirror and broken radio.

      Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Ben just invited me over to the house of the Mimn where they are celebrating the graduation of one of their friends, who happens also to have a spiffy new blue sports car.

    Catchya later.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Off to the mariachi concert.

    Like

  7. º¿carol says:

    Pretty damn nice out today but I stayed in the house. Had to download my upgraded Kaspersky Anti-virus, then put it on my other computer. I pay for up to 3 computers. I so don’t like doing computer stuff anymore. Always so scary now, now that I’m older. 😦

    Got the job done though. And now, coming up on midnight I just remembered I didn’t finish the wash. DAMMIT! I have permanent press in the washer, waiting for me to fluff it up in the dryer. I am NOT going down to do that now. I’m going to take a shower then stay here in the computer room. Lots to do here, wash can wait until morning. (that kills me though, I like to stay on top of things….)

    Like

  8. º¿carol says:

    Forgot to mention, Michigan had a tiny earthquake today. Over closer to the west side of the state, near Lake Michigan. We didn’t feel anything. Everyone else on FB (Facebook) seems to have felt something.

    I was busy downloading my Kaspersky and doing a lot of swearing, Bob was at his computer behind me. Neither of us felt a thing.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

