Sunny Sunday

Sunrise on Wizard Island, Crater Lake National Park, Oregon

*************************************************************************************

I JUST BOUGHT a shitbox.

Actually, shitbox is a bit harsh. Crapcan might be better. It’s kinder. But so many euphemisms apply. Rattletrap. Heap. Beater.

Whatever you call it, it’s a 1971 BMW 2500 sedan. I drove it home last week. It cost $2,800 and had been on Craigslist for months. That’s a long time, but then the previous owner lives high in the Sierras, more than an hour from anywhere, and the car’s interior appears to have been lived in by a pack of wolverines. And let’s be honest: There aren’t many people who want a 44-year-old luxury car with bad paint, rusty doors, a torn headliner, no radio (or carpeting, or air conditioning, or fifth gear), a leaky clutch master cylinder, a trunk full of filthy and near-valueless spare parts, and zero historic or investment value.

I was thrilled.

@ WIRED

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. jimhitchcock says:

    What to look forward to in next weeks enertainment schedule:

    Bennie, Carly, Mikey all join the clown show!

    Prepare to be thrilled, chilled, and altogether flummoxed by sheer nonsense!

    Like

  2. Den says:

    It’s not just about Good vs Evil anymore, it is Smart vs Stupid with the Stupids increasing their numbers dramatically. But there is a point where the stupids will realize there is downside to stupidity. This can be pointed out accurately by Means Testing the stupid to determine their political knowledge. Simple questions about politics and politicians could weed out the stupid.
    The stupid would then be given an “I’m with Stupid” ball cap with affixed sunglasses on the bill and have the sleeves torn off their shirts.
    By doing this the stupid would be easily recognized and left out of any serious political discussion.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Stupid is as stupid does.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Just over 45 minutes to the Birch & Barley which I will take as 1.85 miles as the trail winds. That is 2.47 mph, a little bit better.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Maybe only 18 minutes back to Sloan. If so, record time. I’ll call it 20 for a total this week, so far, of 65 minutes.

      Like

      • º¿carol says:

        I finally remembered to put my pedometer on my person when going out and about my “estate.” Two nights, faithful, now I have a cold. I went out for my walk anyway but didn’t think I would go far so left the pedometer in here. I went everywhere, dammit.

        NOTE TO SELF: ALWAYS take your pedometer w/ you.

        Like

  5. Den says:

    120 mile ride today, awesome pics, beer now.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    I just learned that there are two species of African elephants.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Tell new Attorney General Loretta Lynch: End “too big to jail.”
    http://act.credoaction.com/sign/lynchconfirm?t=1003&akid=14207.2250578.4iYgrH
    I did.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    ALEC is trying to silence us, but we’re not giving in. Sign our petition telling AT&T, Verizon and Comcast to cut all ties with ALEC.
    http://act.credoaction.com/sign/att_verizon_comcast_alec
    @ 79% mark.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    No party at the SAE frat tonight.

    Like

  10. º¿carol says:

    My only enemy on the internet, on Facebook, said something nasty-ish, or just plain stupid, to me. Jim rode in to the rescue, gave Patty what-for. In a sort of kind way, lol.

    God, I LOVE Facebook!

    Like

    • jimhitchcock says:

      : -)

      You know that pic I posted on the internet, mostly as a joke?

      A friend I haven’t seen since I took her to a Dave Mason concert in ’77 somehow ran across it and sent me a friend request.

      Of course I went there! She was gorgeous then and is gorgeous now.

      The far reaching tentacles of FB scare the crap out of me.

      Like

  11. º¿carol says:

    Whatever you call it, it’s a 1971 BMW 2500 sedan. It cost $2,800 and had been on Craigslist for months….the car’s interior appears to have been lived in by a pack of wolverines. And let’s be honest: There aren’t many people who want a 44-year-old luxury car with bad paint, rusty doors, a torn headliner, no radio (or carpeting, or air conditioning, or fifth gear), a leaky clutch master cylinder, a trunk full of filthy and near-valueless spare parts, and zero historic or investment value.

    Oh, my GOSH, this is exciting! Now you have TWO vehicles to restore! Before pictures, we need “before pictures.”

    Like

  12. Den says:

    Sleep imminent.

    Like

  13. David B. Benson says:

    I have had recent trouble with links @ WordPress.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

