Filamental Sunny Sunday

MAGNETIC FILAMENTS ON THE SUN: With no sunspots actively flaring this weekend, solar activity is low. Or is it? There’s more to solar activity than sunspots and flares. “I can’t recall ever seeing as many magnetic filaments on the sun as I have this month,” points out amateur astronomer John W. O’Neal of Amherst, Ohio. “This composite image is my tribute to the filament-ridden sun of May 2015.”

Indeed, the sun has been unusually filamentary. Vast strands of plasma held together by magnetic fields have crept across the face of the sun all month long. Occasionally, these dark filaments become unstable and erupt, hurling parts of themselves into space. Fragments falling back to the stellar surface can explode, producing a type of flare called a Hyder flare–no sunspot required.

There is an extra-large filament on the solar disk today. It stretches more than 700,000 km from end to end–about twice the distance from Earth to the moon. These dimensions make it an easy target for backyard solar telescopes.

@ SPACEWEATHER of Course

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Filamental Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    Slept in, ahhhh! I like the train stuff you posted yesterday Doc. Locos are in my DNA, having been a Locomotive Machinist and all. Whoo Whoo!

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    ANOTHER BIRTHDAY DAY!

    ♫♪♫♪ Happy birthday, to you. Happy BIRTHday, TO you. Happy BIRTHDAY, dear Dennis. Happy birthday, TO you! ♫♪♫♪

    Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    Been raining for two days now. Ever since Saturday morning when Jill and I headed out to the greenhouse for our summer plants. Cold this morning, in the 40s. Went from A/C all Saturday to the furnace this morning.

    I vacuumed and swept, dusted LR and kitchen and am backing up files on my Western Digital hard drive that went bad on me two weeks ago. Pete set it to reformat and today I backed everything up on it and it went well. Whatever sectors may have gone bad, they’re being ignored now.

    Backing up my “raw footage” which is all our family 8mm films that I fist put on VHS then digitized via the computer. The film stretches back to when I was a kid of maybe 8. This is going to take quite awhile to transfer so I’m going to go lay on my feshly vacuumed–rotated couch cushions, and watch a movie w/ Bob.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    Doc, saw your stick-walking report where you said you feel stronger every week. Most excellent! Nice to see someone stick with an exercise plan. Commendable and I’m VERY happy to hear you’re feeling stronger. *clapping*

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Cloudy Sunday here so I won’t have to wear a tin foil hat.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    @ the Old European after 28 minutes. Open this time.

    Like

  7. Den says:

    Dinner feast complete, yummy, put a fork in me, I’m done. 🙂

    Like

  8. Den says:

    Manhattan from the ISS:

    Like

  9. Den says:

    Jameson, mmmmmm

    Like

  10. David B. Benson says:

    That was a thunder roll. Ahead of schedule.

    Like

  11. Den says:

    Off to llama land.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

