Sunday Radiators

NEUTRONS ON A PLANE: Want to experience space weather? It’s easy. Just step onboard an airplane. Recently, Spaceweather.com and the students of Earth to Sky Calculus have been monitoring cosmic radiation levels in the cabins of commercial jets. Measurements of X-rays and gamma-rays show that travelers absorb the equivalent of one or more dental X-rays on a typical flight across the USA. But X-rays and gamma-rays represent only a fraction of the total radiation evnvironment. On July 23, 2015, for the first time, they carried a neutron bubble chamber onboard. Here is what the chamber looked like at the end of a 5 hour flight from Boston to Las Vegas:

@ SPACEWEATHER of course

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sunday Radiators

  1. Den says:

    I guess we are not supposed to fly @ 30,000ft, guess I will just stick to flying from my chair with my favorite beverage.
    Hold the neutrons please…

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Den, thanks for the info late yesterday.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Down to 97 °F.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Too hot to eat much so I bought some sushi and a BLT.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    Den says:
    August 1, 2015 at 11:57 PM

    I was counting my labor @ 50 hours for $20.00 an hour = $1000, then the rest in parts to fix it. The generator (alternator) charges only the truck battery, the coach battery is charged by plugging it into house power. I wanted to put a solar panel up top to charge it instead, first I have to remove the gigantic dome for satellite teevee and reseal all the top vents where any water could infiltrate. Then remove the fridge door and turn it around so the leaking door seal is on the top, remove all the carpet an replace it with linoleum cuz the carpet is stinky from the fridge leaking on it. Then install a futon where the couch thingy is now so I can sleep comfortably which involves quite a bit of construction itself.

    It is amazing how handy you are, Den! You can make things happen. And you stick to your projects. Even when all hell breaks loose and everything turns into a project, I know you love it. You’re doing what you do best, what you’re always done. I’m happy to know you so I can read about your endeavors.

    Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    Storms here in Michigan. Lots of lightning and thunder, the flickering. Drizzling so far. We had one power failure, lasted only a few minutes and it was back. Now I”m wary. I want to boot up my XP computer to work on some projects and think I should wait until there is no storm, no chance of a power failure.

    Like

  7. Den says:

    Doc, I forgot to include removal, re-sealing of the power brake booster, the seal kit cost $50 plus 3 hours labor @ $20/hr – $110 bucks.
    Alternator repair is history, charging normally now
    Clamped down the TeeVee tonite, beer thirty on my watch.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      What was wrong with the ceiling?

      Like

      • Den says:

        Mildew and poor construction, cabinets screwed into a thin wood sheet, like the stuff on hollow core doors, mahogany plywood 3/16 inch thick, screws were not holding, was sagging 2 inches, re-engineered with 3/8 plywood, no sag now, mildew gone for the most part, still some in the carpet which will be replaced with vinyl flooring on a future project.

        Like

  8. º¿carol says:

    My kids came over today, Pete, Sara, Nick and Aunt Nancy. Jill, Brian and his kids, Maddy & Mason.

    We all got in the pool. We have these four squirt guns, long tubes and all you do to fill it is put the business end in the water and pull back on the handle and it siphon’s the water in. It has a decent capacity. Maybe a quart. Then have at it! Dip, pull handle back, shoot, dip, pull handle back, shoot. We always have a lot of fun with those guns. Brian got me in my eyes, my eyeballs hurt for a bit. Brian, being a man, can push the handle hard. Jill and I don’t have that kind of force when we shoot. We’re such girls.

    The tubes aren’t sliding well, hard to keep shooting with the resistance, my arm will hurt in the morning, so I have them draining on the deck and will spray the tubes with silicone spray. I think that’s what we have. After a treatment of that, they’ll shoot well, probably through next summer.

    Like

  9. Den says:

    The LLamas keep calling, catchup on sleep time…

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

