Thursday’s Acid

1a

Waiting to tackle ocean acidification caused by climate change through yet-to-be developed geoengineering schemes will be too little too late to prevent mass extinction of ocean life, a new study concludes.

Cutting carbon emissions is the only way for oceans to recover from the devastating effects of climate change, according to the new research published in Nature Climate Change. While using deliberate, large-scale manipulation of earth processes to combat global warming has its proponents, intervening in the climate through potentially dangerous geoengineering technologies is unproven. And even if carbon dioxide could be removed from the atmosphere, ocean acidification already spurred by CO2 will persist for centuries. This could cause mass extinctions of marine species, researchers concluded.

“Once the ocean is severely affected by high carbon dioxide, it is virtually impossible to undo these alterations on a human-generation timescale,” said Sabine Mathesius of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research in Potsdam, Germany.

@ INSIDECLIMATENEWS

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thursday’s Acid

  1. David B. Benson says:

    Yup. So stop burning stuff already.

    Like

  2. Den says:

    Throw your refrigerator away!

    Like

  3. ┬║┬┐carol says:

    Seems I forgot to come here yesterday. I got a late start on the computer, and that’s my excuse. So much to do all the time.

    Today Bob sat on the back deck and I turned into a barber. He can’t go to the barber shop in the village anymore, they have steps to get up and in the old building, he doesn’t think he could make it. So, now I’m his barber. I did a pretty good job! He has all those barber tools for cutting hair, I was afraid to use them so I just went at him with scissors and a comb. I’ve been cutting my own hair again, too. Jack of all trades, master of none. That’s me.

    Like

  4. ┬║┬┐carol says:

    The perfect weather has been here for a couple days. Humidity reasonable still.

    I told Bob to DVR the debate tonight for me but he couldn’t find it. He finally had to go into all-channels to put FOXNews in our favorites so we have access to it. I don’t want to watch it live tonight, I’ve too many other things I need to do.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    @ the Nuevo Vallarta.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    LLama time, dammit, sticky hot day did me in.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

