GMO Monday

Oink if you agree.

Oink if you agree.

Genetically modified organisms (GMOs) are not high on most physicians’ worry lists. If we think at all about biotechnology, most of us probably focus on direct threats to human health, such as prospects for converting pathogens to biologic weapons or the implications of new technologies for editing the human germline. But while those debates simmer, the application of biotechnology to agriculture has been rapid and aggressive. The vast majority of the corn and soybeans grown in the United States are now genetically engineered. Foods produced from GM crops have become ubiquitous. And unlike regulatory bodies in 64 other countries, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) does not require labeling of GM foods.

Two recent developments are dramatically changing the GMO landscape. First, there have been sharp increases in the amounts and numbers of chemical herbicides applied to GM crops, and still further increases — the largest in a generation — are scheduled to occur in the next few years. Second, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has classified glyphosate, the herbicide most widely used on GM crops, as a “probable human carcinogen”1 and classified a second herbicide, 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D), as a “possible human carcinogen.”2

@ ORGANIC CONSUMERS

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to GMO Monday

  1. Den says:

    OOPS! I did not set the publish time right so it’s late today.
    Carol, I found this forum with tractor toe-in info, scroll down, HERE

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    A flock of tiny, fast moving birds with black and white heads came by. The birds do not stay in one spot for long at all.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    @ Swilly’s in 22 minutes. No GMO here.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    David B. Benson says:
    August 30, 2015 at 11:14 PM

    I have no time for fiction anymore.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    That’s me, Doc! That’s why I’m hooked on audio books. All my reading time is now devoted to non-fiction, the news, etc. But I LOVED to read stories. I keep up with fiction via audio books. I listen to them when I’m stuck cooking, which is ALL the time. When I have to drive to town, or wherever, I pop in a disc of the latest book I’m into. I just finished a book called “Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. It wasn’t my kind of book, but it grew on me and I can recommend it. It’s about an American opera singer that goes to a South American country to sing for the president of that country, he doesn’t show up. Everyone invited to the dinner ends up getting held hostage by terrorists. The book is about the people help captive for weeks, the rich guests and the teenage terrorists and their generals. Good story.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    Humidity came back to Shangrilah. I’ve had to run the damn A/C the past couple days. The humidity late morning was 70%. Last weeks cool weather, I loved it. I used to be a hot weather lover, a summer lover, even loved the humidity. But this summer? I sometimes think it’s my worry about Bob and his breathing that makes me hate the humid weather, the A/C. Then sometimes when I go out for my walk, I can tell breathing high humidity is hard.

    Got the blessing of Blue Care Advantage to be the patient of Dr. DeWeerd. He’s Bob’s doctor, what the heck. Sooner or later I’m going to get sick with something, I need to be signed up with a doctor.

    Did I tell you that I have this growth under my left eye tear duct? Going to finally have it checked out. Hope it isn’t something serious, like a cancer that has fingers up into my brain, into my sinus cavities. Hey, you never know.

    Have to go to Mason so I’ll stop in and get the referral. Not going to bother calling the office. Doctor’s offices never answer the phone, they send you to voice mail and after you leave your message, forget about it. No one ever calls you back. Bob called that office about something last Monday. Then we placed bets of when he would hear back from the nurse. Monday came and went, Tuesday came and went, Wednesday I went to Mason to the big box and stopped at the doctor’s office to turn in my paperwork. I mentioned Bob at home, WORRYING, no one calling him back. By the time I shopped and got home with the groceries, the doctor’s nurse had called Bob twice.

    Voice mail was invented as a way for employees to not have to do their jobs. I’ll never call that place about anything. I’ll just pop in on my way to Meijer’s if I have to. Less stressful that way.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Earlier saw another tasteless yellow Chevy despite black stripes and back steps.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    It’s not the door chime it’s the wind chime. Sometimes sounds just the same.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    The Nation has articles on 10 years after Katrina. Discouraging.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

