Sunny Sunday

BIG AURORAS: Yesterday, Sept. 11th, a stream of solar wind and a minor CME hit Earth’s magnetic field almost simultaneously. The result was a strong (G3-class) geomagnetic storm that sparked bright lights around the Arctic Circle. Veteran aurora photographer Ole Salomonsen says “it was not only the best display of the season so far, but maybe one of the best I have ever witnessed.” He sends this self-portrait, an aurora silhouette, from Tromsø, Norway:

“I could not resist putting my self into the shot to show the scale of things,” he says. “It looks out of proportion, but this is how it really was! The auroras were enormous.”

During the peak of the storm, Northern Lights were seen in the USA as far south as New York, Wisconsin, and Washington State.

The storm is subsiding now, but it could flare up again as Earth passes through the wake of the CME. NOAA forecasters estimate a 70% chance of polar geomagnetic storms on Sept. 12th.

@ SPACEWEATHER.com

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    Gawd awful smoke-filled, *cough* winds are blowing all the smoke from the 65K acres fire right up here, thick heavy stanky, UN-breathable, my sinuses are bitching, itch, ugh, this sucks, need a wind direction change fast but it’s not happening as a sticky humid ex-tropical storm moves overhead, no rain just sticky humid. I’m staying indoors.

    Like

  2. jimhitchcock says:

    It’s a smoky mess in Carson City. Rumor has it the Sierra is only a couple of miles to the west.

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I liked your National Geographic covers on yesterday’s thread. My two favorites:

      The Great Wall of China: 5,000 years without a Mexican

      And…Sluts of the Rainforest: How Experts rate their tits

      Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    Browned up Quincy’s hamburger for his dinner, made his green beans. I have Unstuffed Cabbage in the oven, washed the dishes and cleaned up the mess I made. Will feed Q soon, then a walk and some play, THEN I’ll go out and start the mowing. Think I’ll start at the abandoned house next door which I had to skip last mowing because a storm was hitting. I was soaked by the time I got in the house that day.

    I can’t get used to the idea today is Sunday. I keep thinking it’s Monday because Quincy is here.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    After all the hoops to jump thru, not many actually, I have the blessing of Blue Care Advantage and the referral from my new doctor to see another doctor about the growth by the corner of my left eye. The appointment is Tuesday. That was shockingly fast.

    I probably have cancer in the growth, with fingers of cancer slinking up into my sinus cavities, or rotting my eyeball. Bob hates when I say shit like that, lol. But hey, it could be true.

    Like

    • Den says:

      Oh for crying out loud! It most likely a plugged tear duct or something simple.
      Try to be positive, listening to puggers BS does that to ya.
      As always, question doctors, they see many a day and might not be focused, force them to focus on you!

      Like

  5. Den says:

    Just saw the Marine Corps flying two large choppers overhead heading toward the (Napa) Valley fire. It, just this AM, burned up half of Middletown, CA and sent 100’s fleeing fast.
    This place is burning up a piece @ a time.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Mostly cloudy here.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Someone I know on the telly.

    Like

  8. Den says:

    A car full of Irish nuns is sitting at a traffic light in downtown Dublin, when a bunch of rowdy drunks pull up alongside of them.

    “Hey, show us yer teets, ya bloody penguins!” shouts one of the drunks.
    Quite shocked, Mother Superior turns to Sister Mary Immaculata and says, “I don’t think they know who we are; show them your cross.”

    Sister Mary Immaculata rolls down her window and shouts, “Piss off, ya fookin’ little wankers, before I come over there and rip yer balls off!”

    Sister Mary Immaculata then rolls up her window, looks back at Mother Superior, quite innocently, and asks, “Did that sound cross enough?

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    Horrors! A yellow squareback. At least it had a black stripe on each side.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

