Sunny Sunday

Sunrise.Cactus

In Carole Baskin’s dream world, there would be no lions and tigers in cages. That includes at her own facility — a certified sanctuary called Big Cat Rescue, in Tampa, Florida.

Big Cat Rescue is home to 89 lions, tigers, ocelots, sand cats, bobcats, cougars and other big cats. Baskin keeps a spreadsheet of how each animal got to her, along with information about the animals that she’s been contacted about but hasn’t taken in.

It’s a grim read. There’s a bobcat kept as a pet, whose owner no longer wants him. A lioness seized in a drug raid. A tiger and a lion who used to be with the circus. A coatimundi losing his home because his owners are getting divorced. A cat merely identified as a “hybrid” found in the back of a U-Haul, along with a dead bobcat. Three tigers who need to go somewhere because the zoo where they’re living says they can’t afford to feed them anymore.

@ HUFFPO

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    3280 times I’ve done this, does that mean I am obsessed? I am later than usual because I was too lazy to set it last night.

    Big kitties today, imagine what their cat box smells like. I have a Bobcat here, I saw the pile outside my back door made with good size (30mm) paws. They are out there.

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    I hope that bill gets somewhere. I’m all for the animals. Many nights on my walks I think about what I would do if I won a huge lotto. I would build a sanctuary for animals, but it would be dogs and maybe cats. I would be Jon Stewart who bought a farm so he can rescue farm animals.

    Of course, at my age, I would have to hire people. Too old to do what would need doing all by myself. I’ll not worry about that now because the odds on winning that lotto are nil since I rarely buy a ticket.

    Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    I didn’t do anything today except the dishes, and I fed us lunch. I really should have gone out to weed, beautiful day, but to heck with it. I need a day like this occasionally, a day off.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Tomorrow is Indigenous Peoples Day.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Is sunny.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Sorry, no checks. 😦

    Like

  7. Den says:

    The Natives are restless.

    Like

  8. Den says:

    Excuse me while I pound out another fine blog for tomorrow…

    Like

  9. jimhitchcock says:

    Funny that the guy on our right has my dad’s ears, since he’s from the English side of my family.

    Like

  10. Den says:

    Nope, not seeing any ears there Jim.
    Perhaps they are in back?

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

