Tesla Thursday

1a

Tonight, Tesla makes its cars autonomous. Well, semi-autonomous. And it did it with an over-the-air update, effectively making tens of thousands of cars already sold to customers way better.

There are two things to talk about here. There’s the small story about the features and what the upgrade actually looks like and how it works. That’s a good place to start: This is the biggest change to the visual display of the Model S and X ever. There are new instrument panels, app windows are larger and take up more of the 17-inch touchscreen. Drivers will now get more information about what their cars are doing when in Autopilot, they can lock and unlock their car from the status bar. There’s a new clock!

These are simple cosmetic changes. The Big Story is that all of this—and really, who cares about anything beyond autopilot mode?—is being pushed through to customers’ Teslas overnight. The update will begin being pushed out tonight, and will hit every Tesla made and sold in the US in the past year over the course of this week.

Before you get too excited about an autonomous, hands-free present, you need to know that you can’t nap in the back, chauffeured around in beautiful, electric silence.

Even in Autopilot, you keep your hands on the steering wheel. Well… you don’t have to keep your hands on the steering wheel. You can rest them on your knees (resting on knees, palms up, fingertips touching the wheel is advised), or keep one pinky on the wheel. And okay, you can take your hands off altogether for a moment. But after a few seconds, your car will give you a little message, asking you to touch the wheel in some capacity.

@ WIRED

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tesla Thursday

  1. Den says:

    Israeli thugs are at it again, 8 Palestinian kids killed already by the butchers. 😦

    Like

  2. jimhitchcock says:

    Just after reading this post, I unpause Ironman 2, where RDJ and Gwyneth Paltrow are walking into a restaurant and briefly greet Elon Musk. Weird.

    Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    FB isn’t posting your DWF posts? I see them there in my news feed all the time. I’ll start keeping score.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    Made some home made chicken soup this morning. Will freeze a little of it for the next time someone gets sick around here, just thaw her out and boil up some noodles.

    Pete came over after dropping Nicholas off at school. He disassembled my pool filter, hauled it over to the hose, took it apart and cleaned the DE (Diatomaceous earth) out of it, put it back together and stored it in our little barn. He also dug up a pole he just installed last summer behind my lilacs. He moved it over to the back of the house so I can hang my bird feeders on it. It’s a pole from my old clothesline. THAT will thwart a raccoon if one should show up. They won’t be able to climb a metal pole! YEAH!!!

    I also had to drive to Stockbridge: bank, library, drug store, grocery store, when I got back I deboned the chicken and finished up the soup. We were going to watch a movie I rented Tuesday, I told them to watch it because of all I had to do. Pete has to leave here a little after 2:30 to pick Nicholas up. If the movie is any good I can watch it at my leisure.

    I should have cleaned up the mess I made, but came in here instead to start catching up. Damn, I missed coming here yesterday. Although I really didn’t. I came here yesterday morning, caught up with the day before and there were no new comments on the new thread. I should have posted something but I didn’t.

    Off to my two newspapers.

    Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    The wife of one of Pete’s friends died unexpectedly yesterday morning, or maybe the night before. No one knows why yet but she was having blood clot problems. My guess is one burst and that was that.

    Bonnie was 71, her husband maybe 53. I was FB friends with Drew, but not Bonnie and that’s inexplicable since we were almost the same age, and on the same page politically. Jill called me from work in the morning to tell me and I actually got choked up and shed a few tears over Bonnie.

    Bonnie was one of those few people who make a difference, who ARE somebody, an activist, a professor, an advocate. I’m nothing compared to a woman like that. Her life meant something, and she meant a lot to many people both hers and Drew’s FB pages were crammed with condolences, and tributes. Both the front page of the Lansing State Journal AND the Detroit Free Press had her picture, her story. Bonnie Bucqueroux was somebody. *sniff*

    Bonnie Bucqueroux

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Carol would like this:

    Like

  7. Den says:

    FAUX NOOZ does it again!
    They cannot even spell journalism, LOL!

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    No neuz is good neuz.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    @ the Hillside Cafe. Concert tonight.

    Like

  10. David B. Benson says:

    I suppose Tesla wants a driver just in case. Might even be the law.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

