Like I Said Tuesday

1a

Anti-intellectualism and anti-rationalism have become almost epidemic in America. In fact, a talented writer by the name of Susan Jacoby wrote an important book several years ago titled The Age of American Unreason. The only hesitation anyone should have about reading that book is that it is pretty scary stuff.

According to Jacoby, more than 40 percent of Americans under 44 never read a single book in the course of an entire year. Americans of all ages are losing their ability to concentrate and analyze what they hear. In fact, the rule of thumb for a political candidate was that they needed to deliver their political message in around 40 seconds; today that political sound bite needs to be delivered in eight seconds to match our ability to concentrate.

Today in American schools, teachers who used to be able teach civics, humanities, and classic literature are now forced and ordered to stuff students’ brains with just enough information to pass standardized tests that are required by short-sighted politicians. Those politicians cajole school administrators, teachers and students into perpetuating a system that lacks the design to help children learn and think critically. Instead, they are taught to simply regurgitate numbers and words.

@ ROFR

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Like I Said Tuesday

  1. º¿carol says:

    This post is in my FB news feed.

    Like

  2. Den says:

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Duhhh…

    Like

  4. Den says:

    Carol is busy with the loss of her Stepfather today, a nice guy too, hate to lose nice people.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Condolences.

      Like

    • º¿carol says:

      Thank you, Den. He was a great guy. I’ve known him since I was 18, I lost my real father at 18. My kids, of course, never met my dad so Bob Fritz was their grandfather from the day they were born. He had a very good life and he had the perfect death. He did NOT suffer.

      Jill and I will go to the viewing Thursday, but not the funeral on Friday. She gets off at 12:30 on Thursdays and doesn’t have any paid time off at the moment for Friday.

      Like

  5. º¿carol says:

    OMG, I LOVED your post today, Den! The anti-intellectualism that is in vogue now DRIVES ME NUTS! Imagine, encouraging a segment of society that the smart people ARE THE ENEMY! Just read the comments in the articles posted on reputable news sites, or anywhere. People are so proud of being ignorant, happy to put down people that think, people who went to collage, people who are experts in things.

    I keep telling myself that there ARE more intelligent people out there, after all, Obama got elected twice. AND HE’S BLACK! Seems like everyone is a racist, but HE GOT ELECTED…..TWICE? To me, there’s hope for us that no Donald Trump will get in. The more intelligent will prevail. (boy, they better get off their asses and VOTE!)

    Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    Grapefruit Juice…yes, a person on a certain type of blood pressure pill (not all of them) can’t eat grapefruit, but I’m not on any pill yet so I can still indulge.

    Den and the statins, does the reaction you had, what you discovered by not taking it, make you think you’re better off NOT taking statins? Are you ready to wing it, no drugs?

    Like

    • Den says:

      Statin’s have the nasty side effect of destroying your muscles and tendons over time.
      I don’t know about you but I need those muscles and tendons.
      The damage they do is irreversible they say, I guess I will find out.

      I expected a certain amount of pain from my RA and OA but floating pains for no reason like strain or anything else being implemented buy the drug responsible for maintaining Cholesterol, Waaa?

      Lately I had been noticing pains in areas I know are not arthritic, a little bit of Googling and the truth was revealed, statins are evil and needed discontinuing before the muscle damage got worse.

      Consider it coming to my own rescue, I know I am not going to clog my jumpers just yet so it will give my body time to adjust back. Muscles can be repaired by increasing demand, the body will see the need and start repair work.

      But wait there’s more;

      Statins fuck with your brain also. When I took Lipitor for month’s after my HA I became metally dull, unable to process info needed for work, I spent a week at a factory school of which I have no recall with the exception of freezing my ass off in O’Hare overnite, lukily I had books. Crestor had me crazed with irrational thoughts, and finally Zocor which did me in to this point, the worst of all the statin’s for muscular destruction.

      I am looking forward to clearing the mental windshield of any statin debris.

      FUCK YOU BIG PHARMA!! I hope you choke to death on your riches.

      Like

  7. º¿carol says:

    Either Hillary, or Bernie will win. We all better hope so.

    Like

    • Den says:

      Bernie has a target on his back for pre-election deletion.
      Ole Hill would not have the votes due to the media digs.
      We are being literally fucked by Fascism.
      In Carol-Speak: DOOMED!

      Like

  8. º¿carol says:

    Ok, I just posted your article on my FB page. My smart friends will like it, probably won’t hear from the other ones.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    Canucks did the proper thing Monday.

    Like

  10. David B. Benson says:

    @ the Hillside Cafe for an all veggie dinner. Concert tonight.

    Like

  11. Den says:

    Off 2 the RV to rest, I did putter around in the garage a bit today, organizing, still stiff with pain spots all over, time for rest.

    Like

  12. David B. Benson says:

    Concert over. Talked briefly with Regan afterwards.

    Nippy on the way home.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

