Water World Wednesday

1b

The US has threatened further naval incursions into waters claimed by China after naval manoeuvres near two artificial islands in the South China Sea prompted an angry rebuke from Beijing.

China summoned the US ambassador to Beijing in protest and accused the US of a “serious provocation” following US naval manoeuvres during which the guided-missile destroyer USS Lassen sailed close to a Chinese artificial island.

But US defense secretary Ash Carter warned on Tuesday that naval operations in the area would continue. “We will fly, sail and operate wherever international law permits,” said Carter, during a congressional hearing in which lawmakers claimed the US risked losing credibility with its allies in the region if it did not act.

“There have been naval operations in that region in recent days and there will be more in the weeks and months to come,” he said.

The US navy began its mission through waters near the island at about 6.40am local time on Tuesday.

@ THE GUARDIAN

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Water World Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    Sneaky Chinese, it’s not enough they have the Worlds’ largest land mass to themselves.

  2. Den says:

  3. Den says:

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Staying off right foot seems to have worked today except that it is a chores + errands Wednesday.

  5. Den says:

    You take statins?

  6. David B. Benson says:

    I have never seen the local pizza parlor so busy.

  7. Den says:

    Pizza, *sigh*

  8. Den says:

    Since quitting statins I have had to modify my diet considerably, pizza is out, dairy out, processed meats out, dammit!

  9. Den says:

    Fruits, veggies and nuts with Bison substituting for cattle meat, thank heavens.

  10. Den says:

    Might have 20 years left, maybe @ that.

  11. Den says:

    In severe need of a female that won’t drive me crazy that knows how to cook lite to keep me alive,
    hell I don’t even have a stove.

  12. Den says:

    Had a Amy’s ‘Veggie Lasagna’, tasty for frozen stuff, I’ll buy another, Amy’s is a good brand for healthy frozen food including bean burritos.

    I got to transfer locations once more, back in AM.

  13. º¿carol says:

    Our friend, Jeff, came over early this afternoon, knelt down by my tractor and turned the wheel back with his bare hands. Just like that, it was fixed. Why didn’t I do that yesterday? I used my right arm to try to lift the front of the tractor while my other hand tried to turn the tire. All I needed to do was turn it on the grass, didn’t have to lift the tractor. And now a muscle in my right shoulder hurts while my neck doesn’t want to turn right easily. Stupid girl. If Bob would have been able to go out there, HE would have tried to turn the tire. 😦

    Still, what made the wheel turn to such an angle with nothing being wrong. It was raining when Jeff got here, he’s going to come back Monday, see if he can see anything wrong that needs fixing. I, for one, will NEVER trust driving my practically brand new tractor again. It will feel like a time bomb.

  14. º¿carol says:

    I was going to watch a little of the debate, was going to set the DVR, watch it tomorrow, but couldn’t find a channel it was broadcast on. Oh, well, I didn’t miss anything.

Express your views below, politely please.

