China Choking Tuesday

1a

China’s capital issued its first red alert for pollution on Monday, urging schools to close and invoking restrictions on factories and traffic that will keep half of the city’s vehicles off the roads, as a new blanket of choking smog was projected to descend on the city.

The red alert — the most serious warning on a four-tier system adopted a little over two years ago — means authorities have forecast more than three consecutive days of severe smog.

An online notice from the Beijing Municipal Environmental Protection Bureau said it issued the alert to “protect public health and reduce levels of heavy air pollution.”

Beijing hotel staffer Fan Jinglong said the smog forecast was “really worrisome.”

“We have no choice but to step up preventative measures like wearing a mask outdoors at all times,” he said.

Readings of PM2.5 particles — which includes emission from vehicle exhausts — climbed toward 300 micrograms per cubic meter on Monday and are expected to continue rising before the air begins to improve with the arrival of a cold front on Thursday. The World Health Organization designates the safe level for the tiny, poisonous particles at 25.

@ ALJAZEERA

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to China Choking Tuesday

  1. º¿carol says:

    Sorry to hear you’re still feeling poorly, Den. Maybe the statins weren’t the problem?

    What did you mean when you said “time to pack up again?”

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    Heading to Okemos shortly. Christmas run, a few presents to have to get in person at a bricks and mortar store. Some size 6 clothes for Nicholas for Xmas. Grandma always gets him clothes. I need a new pair of gloves for my evening walks. Two fingers on the left hand have popped through and MAN that’s bad. Might look for some shirts for me. Then I need to scout around in a couple other places, see if I can find anything cute for the Christmas stockings.

    Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    That Morgan James concert was VERY good. Four piece band, loved the bass guitar. Music is nothing w/o a strong bass line. A woman named Celisse Henderson opened the show. Just her powerful voice and her electric guitar, no backup. Just her. She was GREAT!!! Soooo talented. I bought her CD for $10 and when the crowds were mostly gone, no one asking her to autograph anything, I walked over to her and handed her my CD. I said “I wasn’t going to get it signed because I’m old, I could be dead tomorrow.”

    She laughed and I laughed when I read what she wrote: “Carol, you’re not dying anytime soon.”

    Like

  4. Den says:

    Racked with pain and the only remedy for me according to my worthless VA nurse is to go to the ER?? A VA doctor office in town and they will not even take a look at me now while perfectly willing to set me up with an appointment at the end of January, some fine medical care that is. I sent back a nasty-gram thanking the PITA nurse for the brush off.

    The last time I went to the ER with bladder pain I got quacked upon and ended up taking antibiotics I had left over from a tooth extraction to get rid of the infection they told me I did not have.

    I sure would not want to depend on those bozos in a real emergency.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Just 27 minutes of stick walking in the rain today. My left forearm became noticeable and on the way home both shoulders.

    Day 3: 97+27=124 minutes.

    @the Nuevo Vallarta for sopa tortilla.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Pineapple Express @ work out there in the Pacific, expect to be soggy for quite some time.

    Patch the galoshes time, maybe a sail board to get around with wind energy.

    Like

  7. Den says:

    Here I go again…

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

