Coal Kicker Saturday

1a

Oregon has become the first US state to pass laws to rid itself of coal, committing to eliminate the use of coal-fired power by 2035 and to double the amount of renewable energy in the state by 2040.

Legislation passed by the state’s assembly, which will need to be signed into law by Governor Kate Brown, will transition Oregon away from coal, which currently provides around a third of the state’s electricity supply.

At the same time, the state will also require its two largest utilities to increase their share of clean energy, such as solar and wind, to 50% by 2040. Combined with Oregon’s current hydroelectric output, the state will be overwhelmingly powered by low-carbon alternatives to fossil fuels.

@ THE GUARDIAN

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Coal Kicker Saturday

  1. jimhitchcock says:

    As much as I like this, it’s just political posturing.

    Clean energy is not that hard, no matter what the Koch’s of the country say to the contrary. Will it change the economy? Sure it will. Much as cars replaced horses as means of conveyance, blacksmiths who once replaced horseshoes will retrain as tire changers. Figuratively.

    Man, as a species we are so afraid of change. Truth is, it will happen with or without us.

    .

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Not and not. But details another time.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Not that easy as Oregon currently depends on coal for 40% of the electricity. The big power station in Boardman is already scheduled to switch off the coal burner and switch on a new combined cycle gas turbine. This legislation addresses the other coal burners in Oregon.

      Doubling renewables will be a challenge. Oregon already obtains 40% of the power from hydro and there is little possibility of expanding this resource. I don’t know how much renewable energy Oregon currently has but the best sites for wind turbines are already filled. In the Pacific Northwest solar power isn’t sensible.

      Finally, nuclear power plants are not considered to be renewable.

      Like

  2. jimhitchcock says:

    And to answer your query from last night, Doc, I enjoy tales of eating well and healthy, as I struggle with it. My main cooking skills consist of frying eggs and microwaving stuff. And I primarily go fast food for lunch. Not always bad, mind you, shrimp tacos at Del Taco are not all that bad.

    My main gripe in food consumption lies with Carol, of course. She still uses sweet pickles in her potato salad, can you imagine? 🙂

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      My grocery store has a deli with lots of salads in as small as meal sized portions. These are better than what is available at the Hillside Cafe. However, there is big on promoting healthy eating.

      But you asked about my weight, which seems odd…

      Like

      • jimhitchcock says:

        You misunderstand, which is my fault for not being more clear.

        The variety of menu you consume at the Hillside Cafe and elsewhere is astonishingly rich compared to the crap I stuff down my throat. And I drive to acquire my food, rather than using my feets to do anything other than pressing an accelerator pedal.

        If I ate as well as you do, I might not be packing a bowling ball above my belt line 🙂

        An off hand compliment, is all.

        Like

        • David B. Benson says:

          I doubt choice and size of diet alone would remove your spare tire. It has taken 3 years of this stick walking to finally achieve the state of not being able to pinch an inch.

          Like

    • º¿carol says:

      Wish I could eat out all the time and quit cooking. 😦

      Like

  3. jimhitchcock says:

    I once had a friend named Bill Kemp

    He was a bit short on good character, though he was a helluva good pedal steel player.

    He had a dog called Mo, short for Maureen O’Hara. She was extremely fearful of people she did not know. Aussie collie mix.

    First, maybe second time I met her, I walked too close to her, and she jumped at the opportunity to latch her jaws over my left foot.

    She looked up at me menacingly, people were freaking out, Bill was freaking out, I looked down and calmly said “It’s okay, girl”.

    She retreated to her corner, I sat down on the couch.

    I looked at her across the the room, said ” come here, Mo” and she did!

    I wrapped my arms around her wonderful fur, our eyeballs gazed upon each other in trust, and just like that, friends for life 🙂

    Like

  4. Den says:

    Rick Dales crew @ work:

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    @ the Black Cypress after 23 minutes for kima with an Italian red wine.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Total today of 41 minutes to Sloan.

      Day 7: 268+41=309 minutes. Not shabby.

      Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I made a new recipe today. Guess I’ll rip it up and not make it again. I didn’t like it, but who knows, maybe after a night in the fridge it will be better.

      Lemon Chicken. Cut up boneless breasts, marinaded the pieces in lemon/soy/etc for an hour. Dredged in salted cornstarch and fried them. Made a lemon sauce from real lemons. To be put on the chicken when ready to eat. Eh. Hopefully, tomorrow, it will taste better. I don’t like how frying the pieces in cornstarch came out. Frying in flour or bread crumbs has a tastier outcome.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Home from the best Washington Idaho Symphony concert yet. Crisp playing of Haydn and Brahms.

      Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    It’s Sunday morning. Actually after noon here and no Sunday post from Den.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

