Space-X Sunday

1a

Today in space history, a rocket went to space. No big. But then it came back down and landed on a drone barge in the middle of the ocean.

The rocket was a Falcon 9, built by SpaceX, Elon Musk‘s commercial spaceflight company. On its own, the retropropulsion landing is a major technological accomplishment. But it means even more as a step toward reliably getting humans off of Earth—maybe even permanently. “In order for us to really open up access to space,” Musk said in a press conference shortly after the landing, “we need to achieve full and rapid reusability.”

That’s because space is expensive. A single Falcon 9 costs about $60 million. According to Musk, each Falcon 9 could theoretically be reused for 10 to 20 missions. Filling a Falcon 9 with rocket fuel only costs $200,000 to $300,000, so even counting refurbishments between missions, that means a hundredfold drop in marginal cost per launch.

@ WIRED

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Space-X Sunday

  1. micki says:

    Dr B, I hope you have a complete, uneventful recovery. I think it’s beautiful that you’re happy for Natasha, imagining her with a caring, supportive mate, yet able to express your feelings for her. Love comes in many variations….

  2. Den says:

    We received some needed rainfall yesterday into today, soggied things up a bit.

    I’m avoiding the MSM, so many lies, so little truth. 😦

  3. jimhitchcock says:

    I find it rather amazing that

    At that very nearly approaching the age of advanced decrepitude, I just now ate at Starbucks for the very first time.

    The highlight for me was being able to stare through the glass at the geeky grazers, seeing a couple, both hunched over their much used notepads, occasionally glancing at each other for what I took for affirmation seeking.

    Man, I am rapidly turning into a curmudgeonly old fuck.

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Stick walked up to the Hillside Cafe but the mobile phone turned itself off so I have to estimate 15 minutes.

    Most of the moms have gone home; last few just departing.

    • º¿carol says:

      You seem to be back to normal, doing normal things, Doc. Do you have any doctor appointments coming up to check you out?

    • David B. Benson says:

      Not hurrying but only took 46 minutes to Terre View Blvd and return. Saw one magpie and just as turning up Monroe Street the 3 neighborhood crows; Junior is almost full grown so I suppose he won’t be hanging around his parents for more than another month.

      Day 1: 15+46=61 minutes; a good start for this week.

  5. º¿carol says:

    Went to A² (Ann Arbor) today with Sara, her twin and Nicholas to see the latest play their brother directed. H.M.S. Pinafore. Something I’m sure Doc would enjoy. Not me. I went to his last play, but this one will be the last time. I’m not into operettas AT all. People were chuckling here and there, I never figured out what they were laughing at. Just not my cup of tea.

    David starred as Henry Higgins in My Fair Lady, I LOVED that one but that’s because it’s one of my two favorite musicals, I knew the words to every song. That was much better than something like Pinafore. The last play was called Patience.

    • David B. Benson says:

      HMS Pinafore is a riot, like all Gilbert & Sullivan poking fun at the British upper class. I saw it when I was in high school. Maybe my mother was in the chorus.

      “He polished up the handle so carefully
      that now he is the ruler of the Queen’s Navy.”
      A riot; think apple polisher, although the British don’t use that phrase.

    • David B. Benson says:

      Strictly speaking, My Fair Lady is an operetta. So if the opportunity arises to attend a performance of The Merry Widow by all means take it.

      And as for other operettas ask me for advice about what you might enjoy. What is your other favorite musical?

  6. º¿carol says:

    Doc, my other favorite musical…“Jesus Christ Superstar.” Bought the album from the movie, wore it out and had to buy another one. Went to the show 3 times to see it and Jill and I have gone to the stage version at the FOX in Detroit at least twice, and to see it at the Wharton on the Michigan State University campus up in Lansing at least twice.

    Of course, I have the cassette of the sound track, and I bought the VHS tape version for my video store. I have it on DVD now, of course, lol. Hmm, maybe I should watch it again….? Nah.

Express your views below, politely please.

