Sunny Sunday

1a

TRANSIT OF MERCURY: On Monday morning, May 9th, Mercury will pass directly between Earth and the sun, producing a rare transit visible from the Americas, Europe, Africa and much of Asia. According to NASA. In the USA, the transit begins around 7:15 am eastern time. This means it begins before sunrise on the west coast, but that’s no problem. The transit lasts for more than 7 hours, so Mercury will still be gliding across the solar disk when the sun comes up over places like California and Alaska. Everyone in the USA can experience the event.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    Laundry day, 4 loads, backed up a bit.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    Also VE Day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. David B. Benson says:

    0 energy day today.

    Like

    • ┬║┬┐carol says:

      I’m right behind you feeling that way, Doc. I officially started feeling old when I turned 70 last year. Approaching 71 and I certainly didn’t improve in any area, lol. It’s downhill from now on.

      Fortunately, I can keep pushing myself, lord knows I have lots to do with the house and an acre and a half of property and a Bob to take care of. I wonder who will take care of me when it’s my turn.

      Like

  4. ┬║┬┐carol says:

    Jim, when is that surgery, and it’s about time!

    Like

  5. ┬║┬┐carol says:

    The Detroit Zoo was nice, a coolish day, didn’t have to stand under water sprayers to cool off, or have to wear a coat or sweater. Perfect conditions. When we got there at 11:00 we had to park on the grass on the outside wall of the zoo grounds, WHAT A CROWD IN THERE! It was for an event of some kind, groups of people wearing matching T-shirts, kind of a charity thing, I guess. It was over at 11:00 so there were tons of people exiting. It thinned out to normal proportions soon after we got there.

    The new feature was they built a new penguin house since last year and it was magnificent! AND NO SMELL! Two levels: level one you could see the birds on ice with the water, simulating Antarctica. To get downstairs you walk to a room off there which is a ramp that seemed to go down three levels, but the best part of that room was the 360┬░ movie playing around the perimeter of a ship: WE are on the ship! The seas are raging the bow is heaving up and down in the surge. A life raft elevated on each kept banging against the metal they were tied to. The weather changed to still, it changed to night with a gazillion stars. I would love to pull up a chair and just sit there, drink a few beers, enjoy the trip. *sigh*

    When we got down to the bottom the penguin area above, we were now below in the water which was pretty deep. We could watch them swimming in flocks, SO cool! I LOVED it! I always found the penguins boring in the other facility, but THIS one is…magnificent! Too bad I’ll never see it again.

    Like

  6. ┬║┬┐carol says:

    Why won’t I see it again? I told them yesterday that would be my last time. For the first time in my life I was having trouble with all the walking. I was eyeing the park benches. I never get tired of walking, guess that’s over now.

    When I got home and sat down at the computer I was fine, when I tried to stand up, OH. MY. GOD. I do tend to get stiff after I do yard work, things like that, always hard to start walking after sitting for awhile, but LAST night was the absolute worst ever. My body told me it was all done with walking for hours on end thru zoos. ­čśŽ

    A night’s sleep put me back together though, thank goodness. What if that feeling didn’t go away? I’m lucky, for now. But the clock keeps ticking…

    Time for my walk so it’s Beer-30. Had one Margarita today at the Mother’s Day lunch. It was a small one, didn’t even catch a buzz so I’m ready for a beer. Everything is still gorgeous out there so that will help cheer me up until I start thinking about getting older yet and I get bummed out.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    So almost all of the nearby students have left, some of them having graduated, leaving no cars parked in Illinois Street.

    I had thought that the local pizza parlor would be busy for Mother’s Day but there are only 3 other parties. Lovely day out and the pepperoni and pineapple personal pan pizza is good.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      At the pizza parlor I watched some of “A League of their Own”. I don’t much care for baseball or Tom Hanks for that matter. I think what appealed to me was the care which went into the 1943 or so period setting. My earliest memories are from 1944 so lotsa nostalgia.

      But I left when finished eating, not waiting for the end of the film.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Well, there is Brady, talking on his cell phone. Maybe he is going to do summer session.

      Like

  8. Den says:

    Soup for dinner, simple, no hassles, 1 hour nap, tired again now.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    A sliver of the moon.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

