Whacked Out Wednesday

 

1a

 

The prescription opioid epidemic is not new. It began when Pharma rolled out and aggressively marketed time-released opioids like Oxycontin, driving “pill mills” that distributed as many as 9 million Oxys in a six-month span. What is new is the media finally calling Pharma out on the many cagey ways it got people hooked on opioids and heroin (and continues to do so), how the FDA unabashedly helps Pharma with shocking new approvals, and how people in real pain, especially the poor and African Americans, are some of the hidden victims of the epidemic. When all the reports are in, the Pharma-driven opioid epidemic may be one of the biggest and deadliest cons in recent history.

@ ALTERNET

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Whacked Out Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    Gee wiz BIG Pharma making pills addictive? what a surprise.

    NOT!

    I found out first hand the perils of modern medicine given to hook you.

    I escaped Statins but cannot escape Prednisone. Trying to get off Prednisone means severe muscle pain making me so weak I cannot remove the cap from a water bottle without using a pliers to do so, walking is impossible and my current RA goes wild. A nasty, evil addiction to keep people taking this stuff so Big Pharma can rake in the big bucks from your misery.

    Do your online research first so you know what you are taking before you commit, because you might be committing for life.

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I see the Prednisone as something you NEED to take because it helps you.

      Unless you’re saying you didn’t have the weakness problem, etc. UNTIL you started taking it.

      Still, it helps you now, so that’s that.

      Like

  2. Den says:

    BIG Pharma spotted on golf course!

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I haven’t watched that video until now. I didn’t think it would be real so why waste my gigs. I watched it here, sure looks real but seriously, in all the nature documentaries I’ve watched during my lifetime I’ve NEVER seen one that big.

      They can put that together in a movie with CGI, that’s what this video could be. I should google it.

      Like

      • º¿carol says:

        Well, Snopes says it’s real. An employee of the golf course says they call it their mascot. But holy CRAP!!! There’s probably a neighborhood near by, roads people travel on…you know, civilization. How has he survived and why isn’t he killing people, or pets?

        Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    My ordeal is over. The doctor said colon looks good, took one tiny polyp off and then he said he didn’t want to see me again for 10 years!!! HOORAY! Didn’t I say that, I’m NEVER doing that again? I’ll probably be dead in 10 years, and if not…STILL not going to do it again.

    They had to push me out of the place in a wheel chair because I was too unstable to walk. I kept wanting to tilt over, lol. The last two times I had it I’m pretty sure I walked out, but maybe I just don’t remember.

    Almost through with doctors now. Did my duty, got all of the tests, not we just have to get my blood pressure stable and I’m back to be the healthiest person everyone knows, lol.

    By the way, I told the nurses about my blood pressure yesterday and how low it dropped and she said it was because my body chemistry was being changed for the procedure and I shouldn’t have been outside planting and weeding in the heat. Pressure is good today and I haven’t taken any blood pressure pills.

    Anyway, I’M GOING TO LIVE!!!! And there is food in my stomach, Pete took me to eat on the way home from the hospital. Mmmm, something I never get, a bacon cheeseburger and sweet potato fries.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    Now for the news, otherwise known as “what did Trump say today?”

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    To the Black Cypress, downtown, in 23 minutes. Beet soup and pesto pasta.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Having a taster of Valpolicella Ripasso, Tomasso Bussola, Italy, ’11. Good, so having a full glass with dinner.

      Unfortunately, the Black Cypress is now the best restaurant in Pullman.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Forgot to mention saying hello to neighbor Tom Brigham, whom I haven’t seen for years. His son Jeremy was close to my youngest son, Kjell, and they still keep in touch.

      Returning the same route as to the restaurant at the top of College Hill Climb and starting up the last pitch of Maple Street Extension I chanced to meet Natasha proceeding towards her car. I learned that she is now a bartender which comes as no surprise.

      Daily total is 52 minutes as going up is slower than going down.

      Day 4: 156+52=208 minutes and definitely tired although there are still Wednesday chores to do.

      Like

Express your views below, politely please.

