Hat Saturday

1a

One of our favorite American summer pastimes is looking at British people wearing elaborate hats.

What, that’s not an American pastime? Well, it should be, because nothing makes us feel more sophisticated than watching the Royal Ascot from across the Atlantic.

The annual horse race in Ascot, England, does have horse racing, but many people in attendance only care about the fashion. After all, if the racecourse’s strict dress code requires all ladies to wear hats, why not make it a competition?

Click through the slideshow to see the best hat photos from the 2016 Royal Ascot.

@ SEATTLE PI

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hat Saturday

  1. Den says:

    Better check in lest I be declared missing.

    The news is out there, I’m afraid to look tho.

    Like

  2. jimhitchcock says:

    “You can leave your hat on…”

    -Randy Newman

    Like

  3. Den says:

    Cheap Flight

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Still raining.

    Like

  5. Den says:

    At least it won’t be popping into the 100’s next week like here, enjoy the sogginess.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Just up to the 80s next week, unlike in the world’s 6th largest economy.

      Like

      • º¿carol says:

        It was kind of hot today, turned the A/C on. Still, Bob and I sat on the back deck and played a hand of “Spite & Malice.” Our favorite game, we used to play it incessantly…with each other, and with friends. We haven’t played it since 2013. Yes, we keep a running score, from way back in the 70s. I won today. I’m the champ, for ages now, lol.

        Then I mowed everything. I also tore our bed apart, washed the new comforter…imagine cramming something that big into your wash machine. Well, I did it. Got it somewhat dried, too, in the dryer but I should have hung it on the line in the basement so the weight of the water would pull the wrinkles out. Oh, well.

        I had to dust off my iron and actually iron the dust ruffle. I mean, son-of-a-bitch! What the heck did they make that comforter and dust skirt out of that they aren’t wrinkle-fee. In this day and age, they should be. Grrr.

        THEN I had to get the dust ruffle even, between the mattresses. In the old days I had help and we would actually take the top mattress off the bed. Today I had to do it alone. I put the freshly ironed ruffle between the mattresses at the foot of the bed, got it all in the first couple inches, got is straigtened so it would look good when one walked into the bedroom, they went from one side to the other, lifting the mattress as best I could an tugged the dust ruffle up to the head of the bed. I thought I was going to die! It was WAY worst than shoveling snow! I fell on my face on the bed to catch my breath, get my heart to slow down. I HATE getting old!

        But it’s done. New bedding on, clean sheets, I’ve had a shower, all is good with the world.

        Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Long way around to the Tokyo Seoul but took a shortcut on the Main Street viaduct instead of the usual route for the last bit. Took 36 minutes. Having a salmon teriyaki bento box dinner again but with a side of kimchi.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Nice that I can once again eat salmon without the purines giving me much gout pain and without noticeable swelling.

      Like

      • Den says:

        To what do you attribute that?

        Like

        • David B. Benson says:

          Being careful not to eat and drink to much foods with purines. In particular I don’t drink anywhere near as much beer.

          But it might be that wearing larger sized boots is a factor.

          Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      With a detour around construction zone a total of 45 minutes to Sloan ends the stick walking for today and the week; 45 minutes.

      Day 7: 323+45=368 minutes.

      Like

Express your views below, politely please.

