Saturday Reading

1a

Menominee Reservation, Wisconsin — Guy Reiter was an archaeologist before he was an activist. But the two merged after a dream six years ago.

“I was in a van and when we drove by the White Rapids I looked over and saw an elder sitting on a dam, in full Indian regalia,” Reiter says. “He flagged me down, I climbed the dam, and he started talking to me in Menominee.”

Menominee is the language of Reiter’s tribe, the Menominee Indians of Wisconsin. The dam is on the Menominee River, where the history of the tribe begins.

Guy Reiter in May. (Photo: Environmental Health News)Guy Reiter in May. (Photo: Environmental Health News)”We were climbing down, and as soon as my feet hit the ground, I woke up, with tears in my eyes,” he says.

Reiter won’t say what the elder said that brought such tears. The dream was a gift, not to be shared. “Anytime I get to experience ancestors is a real profound time,” he says.

But four months later, on an archeological trip in 2010 with other researchers from the College of Menominee Nation, Reiter saw the dam: It was indeed on the White Rapids, a former settlement site for the Menominee people.

@ TRUTHOUT

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Saturday Reading

  1. Den says:

    Splendiforus morning here. Busy day ahead.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Guns-r-us

    Like

  3. micki says:

    I am First Nations’ Cree from my maternal line; lesser % of Menominee from my paternal line. My mom is from Menominee, MI and my dad from Marinette, WI (both mentioned in this TO article).

    First Nations and Native Americans are doing what most of us don’t bother to do. They respect the land, the water, the air.

    On Thursday, I was invited to speak at the Lummi Tribal Elders Meeting on healthcare related topic.

    We are indebted to the Lummis, the Salish Tribes, etc. for Standing Up to the fossil fuel interests to protect their fishing rights. The Lummis told the Army Corps of Engineers that they could NOT approve permitting to build a coal shipping terminal at Cherry Point, just north of Bellingham.

    In May the Lummis got word they had prevailed.

    “We’ve determined there is a greater than de minimis impact to the Lummi Nation’s usual and accustomed fishing rights based on the Treaty of Point Elliott.” … The Corps issued a decision on the permit, which was a “denial without prejudice.”

    The Lummi treaty fishing rights were honored.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    One of my ancestors is an Amerindian from the Green Bay area. Might have been a Menominee.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Once again, 12 minutes to the Hillside Cafe. Having a big ham and swiss with veggie chili and then fruit with yogurt.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Total today of 75 minutes.

      Day 7: 518+75=593 minutes. That is lots!

      Like

      • David B. Benson says:

        After a late lunch, out to the community garden and then back clockwise to the College Hill Climb and Maple Street Extension and thence to home. Shortly thereafter down to the grocery store, not so much for the pair of sixpacks as for the $40 back so I could pay for the concert ticket. After taking the beer back home, wait a bit and then back down past the grocery store to climb up Hall Drive, oof, and on to the high school auditorium, 33 minutes again.

        The Washington Idaho Symphony was most fine in that setting. Afterwards paid my respects to Abigail, Alice, who looks much more grown up and relaxed this school year, and then Keadrin, who also seems more radiant; she introduced me to her boyfriend, whom I promptly complemented on being a very lucky man, and suggested her radiance was due to him.

        Then back home so a total of about a hour and a half of non-stick walking. No wonder my right foot throbs.

        Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    I’m never going to change my operating system. No Linux for me, I’ll stick with what I am familiar with.

    I saved your advice to try out later, Den.

    So far today, computer hasn’t done one thing wrong, seems normal. I’ve even let the screen saver come on and everything was fine. I did change one setting, and I had Kaspersky scan it yesterday and it found a few ad-ware items and murdered them. I won’t feel comfortable though until many days go by w/o another incident.

    Like

  7. º¿carol says:

    Tomorrow I got out to lunch at 2:00 to meet up with 4 of my political friends, and Jill and Brian are coming. Since they will be driving I see a Margarita in my future. I was going a beer, but now I don’t have to do that!

    I may have prime rib, too, my favorite thing on a menu.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    I just noticed; the *like feature is gone. Thank goodness.

    Like

  9. Den says:

    I did not notice it missing and poked it a couple times to see how it worked, big whoop.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

