Stupid Saturday Reading

 

stupidpence

AKA: When The Stupid Ruled the Earth 2016

What happens to a society when thinking is eviscerated and is disdained in favor of raw emotion? [1] What happens when political discourse functions as a bunker rather than a bridge? What happens when the spheres of morality and spirituality give way to the naked instrumentalism of a savage market rationality? What happens when time becomes a burden for most people and surviving becomes more crucial than trying to lead a life with dignity? What happens when domestic terrorism, disposability, and social death become the new signposts and defining features of a society? What happens to a social order ruled by an “economics of contempt” that blames the poor for their condition and wallows in a culture of shaming?[2] What happens when loneliness and isolation become the preferred modes of sociality? What happens to a polity when it retreats into private silos and is no longer able to connect personal suffering with larger social issues? What happens to thinking when a society is addicted to speed and over-stimulation? What happens to a country when the presiding principles of a society are violence and ignorance? What happens is that democracy withers not just as an ideal but also as a reality, and individual and social agency become weaponized as part of the larger spectacle and matrix of violence?

Henry Giroux @ COUNTERPUNCH

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Stupid Saturday Reading

  1. Den says:

    In light of the latest revelations it shows the stupidity of the Donald, in addition to be a spoiled brat he is a misogynistic freak show on two legs, a predator and bully of the worst degree.

    Meanwhile all his pugger backers are running for the exits.

  2. jimhitchcock says:

    Funny to me

    I first became fast friends with Carol and the Mickster in the early dark days of the Bush W crazy train experiment, and here we are again, and it’ even more fun

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Fox News
    Faux Neuz
    Foul Ness

  4. jimhitchcock says:

    “Apeman”

    I think I’m sophisticated
    ‘Cos I’m living my life like a good homosapien
    But all around me everybody’s multiplying
    Till they’re walking round like flies man
    So I’m no better than the animals sitting in their cages
    In the zoo man
    ‘Cos compared to the flowers and the birds and the trees
    I am an ape man
    I think I’m so educated and I’m so civilized
    ‘Cos I’m a strict vegetarian
    But with the over-population and inflation and starvation
    And the crazy politicians
    I don’t feel safe in this world no more
    I don’t want to die in a Donald Trump war
    I want to sail away to a distant shore and make like an ape man
    I’m an ape man, I’m an ape ape man
    I’m an ape man I’m a King Kong man I’m ape ape man
    I’m an ape man
    ‘Cos compared to the sun that sits in the sky
    Compared to the clouds as they roll by
    Compared to the bugs and the spiders and flies
    I am an ape man
    In man’s evolution he has created the cities and
    The motor traffic rumble, but give me half a chance
    And I’d be taking off my clothes and living in the jungle
    ‘Cos the only time that I feel at ease
    Is swinging up and down in a coconut tree
    Oh what a life of luxury to be like an ape man
    I’m an ape, I’m an ape ape man, I’m an ape man
    I’m a King Kong man, I’m a voo-doo man
    I’m an ape man
    I look out my window, but I can’t see the sky
    ‘Cos the air pollution is fogging up my eyes
    I want to get out of this city alive
    And make like an ape man
    Come and love me, be my ape man girl
    And we will be so happy in my ape man world
    I’m an ape man, I’m an ape ape man, I’m an ape man
    I’m a King Kong man, I’m a voo-doo man
    I’m an ape man
    I’ll be your Tarzan, you’ll be my Jane
    I’ll keep you warm and you’ll keep me sane
    And we’ll sit in the trees and eat bananas all day
    Just like an ape man
    I’m an ape man, I’m an ape ape man, I’m an ape man
    I’m a King Kong man, I’m a voo-doo man
    I’m an ape man.
    I don’t feel safe in this world no more
    I don’t want to die in a Donald Trump war
    I want to sail away to a distant shore
    And make like an ape man

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Hillside Cafe, community garden, College Hill Climb and Maple Street Extension route in 73 minutes. Pigeons and little friends on the wires; a magpie and on Maple Street Extension a fire engine and ambulance making a house call.

    Day 7: 299+73=372 minutes; not shabby for not really trying.

  6. Den says:

    Went to an Air show in town today, disappointed my point and shoot Canon camera does not have a viewfinder, just a picture display that is impossible to see in the Sun. GRRR!

  7. David B. Benson says:

    George Monbiot very good today.

  8. David B. Benson says:

    Today is Matt Damon’s birthday.

Express your views below, politely please.

