Worthless Weasel Wednesday

Cover_421.indd

Decades from now, when the election of 2016 is distilled to its essence, what will that be? Many hoped the central lesson would be a shattered glass ceiling and a cementing of the Obama legacy. An expansion of rights and tolerance.

Instead, a small electoral majority chose a candidate who openly embraced bigotry, who slurred war heroes and mocked the disabled, who bragged of sexual assault, who said he’d roll back the protections of a free press, who was cheered on by white supremacists, who said he’d upend our alliances and the world’s long-overdue climate deal, and who is ignorant and cavalier about the basics of safeguarding a nuclear arsenal.

There is no way to sugarcoat it. The election of Donald Trump is a brutal affront to women, people of color, Jews and Muslims, and all who value kindness and tolerance. Paranoia and divisiveness won the day. If we feared that the Trump campaign would give white nationalists and other political predators a road map for a lasting presence as a disruptive opposition, we have instead handed them the keys to the Oval Office, and the nuclear codes.

@ MOTHER JONES

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Worthless Weasel Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    We are soooooo screwed. 😦

    • David B. Benson says:

      Maybe the electors will do the right thing.

      • Den says:

        Fingers crossed, not holding my breath tho.

        Everything we enjoy here @ DWF will disappear along with Net Neutrality if that asshole gets in power.

    • º¿carol says:

      Nothing is going to save us now. We, the people, did the right thing except for the boondoggle of an electoral college that ruined everything, took away our opinion, our vote.

      Nothing is going to come thru to stop the train wreck now, good outcomes only happen in the movies which is why I love movies. Lots of good outcomes, and lots of heroes.

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Stick walk slog up B Street to the Hillside Cafe in 14 minutes.

    • David B. Benson says:

      Out Grimes Way to the Facility Services Building, most of the way to the end, and back to the Hillside Cafe for warming soup. Didn’t go all the way to the end as my left hand was too cold. Daily total is 68 minutes.

      Day 4: 55+68=123 minutes.

  3. º¿carol says:

    Yes, it got cold here. I still went out last night. I’ll go out again tonight. I love being out there, alone in the night, time to think.

  4. º¿carol says:

    There’s talk about eminent domain in NYC taking Trump Tower if he makes the city cough up millions a day to protect his wife. That, also, will never happen. Trump was elected king and nothing can touch him now.

  5. º¿carol says:

    Pete came over late this morning, fed him and we watched a movie. A comedy that was actually funny. I really liked it, Jill will have to see it, too. “Central Intelligence.” With Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart.

    We watched the new “Tarzan” yesterday. I liked that one, too.

  6. º¿carol says:

    I still haven’t designed my xmas cards. 😦 And look at the date! I did have a germ of an idea last night and started gathering the things I need into one folder, I’ll hit the problem tonight after my “thinking” time.

    I also better start wrapping presents. I haven’t quite finished the dusting in the basement, but since it’s been vacuumed I can put presents down there. Jill already brought over a bunch of hers and put them down there.

    I finally ordered the vitamins/supplement for my eye problem. About time. They should be here Friday. I have been eating the spinach and kale every day, it was easier for me to get the kale than the eye vitamins.

    My new shoes haven’t arrived yet, no email from the shoe store up in Okemos. 😦 Good thing I have my old pair to wear when I go outside. I won’t fall as easily in them.

    Bob hasn’t been well in over a week now. 😦 His chronic bronchitis has flared up, he can hardly eat. He did manage a meal yesterday day, and today, but prior to that he didn’t eat very much at all. Pete and I tried to get him to go to the doctor today, he said no, thought he was on the mend. We’ll see tomorrow. I think he would benefit from a steroid shot. That was what his pulmonary doctor did for him once when this happened. Wish Dr. Morlock didn’t die, never thought I’d miss that guy but I do.

  7. Den says:

    Here is a live presentation with Bernie and Keith from the fine folks over at
    Our Revolution also.

  8. David B. Benson says:

    New format with comment box conveniently at the bottom.

  9. Den says:

    NBC Nooz:

    “Two senior officials with direct access to the information say new intelligence shows that Putin personally directed how hacked material from Democrats was leaked and otherwise used. The intelligence came from diplomatic sources and spies working for U.S. allies, the officials said”.

    “Putin’s objectives were multifaceted, a high-level intelligence source told NBC News. What began as a “vendetta” against Hillary Clinton morphed into an effort to show corruption in American politics and to “split off key American allies by creating the image that [other countries] couldn’t depend on the U.S. to be a credible global leader anymore,” the official said.”

    Trump told them to do it! Co-incidentally his Cabinet picks are Putins buddies, he was almost busted with Manafort in there earlier, he disappeared. cleared that right up, this, not so much now.

    Fine champangne Tillison is Putins buddy.

    CAPTAIN OBVIOUS SEZ: Trump is in Putins bankbook, TAXES PLEASE!

  10. Den says:

    So I take it as no one watched the Keith and Bernie show, or you watched it and have no comment.

    Personally it is refreshing to have someone actually espouse real American values for the Dems to follow once again. They had strayed from core citizen issues into an ‘untouchable’ format, now moving it back.

    It remains to be seen if this remains a positive force for change, or another trip down big money road.

    • jimhitchcock says:

      On computer at work, strangely, not on phone.

    • jimhitchcock says:

      Sorry Den, way exceeded my gig limit .

    • micki says:

      Earlier I watched some of the K and B show….listening to more now. I commend them for their efforts — I would love to see the “reset of the Democratic Party”…way past time. Lost its roots, its mission, its FDRism and LBJism (minus Vietnam), decades ago.

      The Republican Party is a disaster. Horrible. But, I will not defend the Democratic Party in its current permutation. It needs a “tune-up” — badly.

  11. David B. Benson says:

    Has The Donald esploded yet?

  12. jimhitchcock says:

    (To paraphrase Jim Hightower) The best President Putin could buy.

  13. Den says:

    Buford shows us where he hides his gun at:

  14. jimhitchcock says:

    Oh, this made me so sad.

    You guys probably don’t know that I watch Jeopardy every night.

    Just found out that the champion if the past two days, Cindy Stowell, died of colon cancer six days before her appearance.

    Enough to make a tough guy like me tear the heck up.

Express your views below, politely please.

