Treatment Tuesday

1a

You might feel a slight tingle.

This week, President Obama signed the 21st Century Cures Act, touting the bipartisan mental health measure as “bringing to reality the possibility of new breakthroughs to some of the greatest health-care challenges of our time.” However, the reality behind this legislation is not quite what it appears to be.

The 21st Century Cures Act will increase the ease with which individuals can be involuntarily hospitalized in a locked ward, increase funding for institutionalized settings, and demand that states implement forced outpatient treatment in order to receive funding. Many media reports are suggesting that it will fix a broken mental health system, incorporate patient voices into clinical processes, decrease mass violence and modernize clinical trials. But will it really? Here are seven reasons why Obama’s signing of the 21st Century Cures Act is less than grounds for celebration.

@ TRUTHOUT

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Treatment Tuesday

  1. Den says:

    BIG PHARMA has scored again, it’s the drugs stupid! Forced hospitalization? Fuk U!

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Icicles melting.

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Some cleared, some slushy, some icy, took 46 minutes around counterclockwise the long way to the Tokyo Seoul for salmon teriyaki bento box dinner again. Nice to see the sun. A small bird that I don’t recognize, yet, and a small tidings of magpies.

    • David B. Benson says:

      Up to Sloan for a daily total of 59 minutes. Then slipped and slid down the B Street sidewalk. It had been plowed, melt water had run across it to freeze. Overly exciting, including two Pratt falls.

      Day 3: 56+59=115 minutes.

      • º¿carol says:

        Pratt falls, you mean you actually fell???

        • David B. Benson says:

          Yup. No harm done.

        • º¿carol says:

          I had a fall last winter, and another the winter before that. Stepped onto the rocks of our driveway down by the road. It wasn’t just rocks, it was iced over rocks. Legs slid out, I did a shuffle to right myself but ended up on my butt. Same thing at the top of the drive, by the house. Stepped on ice, slow-motion fall to my butt. No harm done, either time.

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Winter solstice is not the first day of winter. Meteorological winter began on Dec 01.

  5. º¿carol says:

    Did all my running around today, up to the mall, to Meijer’s, to Stockbridge to hit the bank, library and post office. Heat wave out there right now and it’s time for my walk. It’s actually 22° except it’s windy, of course.

    Taking Bob to the doctor tomorrow. He should have gone last week. Jill came over yesterday and was appalled at how poorly he’s doing, got on him about not going to the doctor. Suzanne, the barber, came out around 6:30 and gave him a hair-cut. She does that for we old people.

    I LOVE seeing her. She’s probably about 37, has two sons and a husband. Her mom used to be the barber in town, Suzanne took over the place. The family are Democrats. Get such a kick out of talking to her when she tells us about her Trump-loving patrons. I asked her today if any of them were suffering any remorse over their vote, and she said, “*phyttt* are you kidding? No way.”

    She said the day after the election her dad was so upset he couldn’t go to work, lol. They’re my kind of people.

    I like her religion stories, too. Two guys in her shop one day asked her what church she went to. She said she should have made one up, but she said she didn’t go to church. They told her she should be afraid that when she died, she’s was going to hell. She told them that she didn’t believe in hell, so she wasn’t going there, something like that. She said that went on for over an hour. What fun!

    Bob is up, he was resting his back on the bed, it’s so bad anymore even the Vicodin has a hard time ridding him of the pain. Now I can go outside. Wanted to make sure he was up so I can hand him the Walkie-Talkie. We keep in touch with them now when I go out, in case he needs me, bud mostly for him to check on me while I’m out there. What if I keel over with a heart attack and I’m laying there. With him regularly checking in on me, I’m safe. Well, safer. There’s a chance he won’t let me lay out there all damn night, lol.

  6. º¿carol says:

    Saw you got my Christmas card, Den. I bought stamps today and envelopes, now I can mail the rest of my cards. I always make sure I create and finish and mail the cards to my political friends first, then comes family and life-long friends. You see who I value more.

  7. jimhitchcock says:

    Lost my Aunt Mary of Reno today. Three cheers for Mary and her 96 years!

  8. Den says:

    An early attempt at shock therapy:

  9. º¿carol says:

    It stayed 22° all the time I was outside. When I came in, our weather thingy said it was 23°. See? Heat wave.

Express your views below, politely please.

