The Best Pics Tuesday

1a

President Obama meets president-elect Donald Trump in the Oval Office (10 November)
Win McNamee/Getty Images

The day after the election, I left New York City where I’d been planning to cover the election night event featuring the Democratic candidate Hillary Clinton, who had not shown up. Back in Washington DC, we immediately began sending requests to the White House press office for access to the first meeting between Barack Obama and Donald Trump.

The next morning, along with almost 30 other photographers and reporters, I was piling through the narrow doorway of the Oval Office where the two were seated. These situations are frequently chaotic and this one was no different, with reporters shouting questions and jostling for position. I expected the atmosphere to be somewhat chilly, but I was surprised to find it was just the opposite – they were quite at ease, comfortable in each other’s presence. It seemed to me that Obama had already decided that the best way to proceed was to genuinely offer as much help as he could to try and make sure the government continues to function as it should.

As I was photographing, I thought about the paintings and sculptures surrounding them. There is a portrait of the first president of the US George Washington in the centre, looking down from above, and busts of Martin Luther King to the left of Trump and of Abraham Lincoln to the right of Obama. I wondered what these former leaders would think of American politics today. I think that’s what makes the picture so powerful. The way it’s framed shows the context of the Oval Office and the maelstrom of the press, as well as the expressions on the two men’s faces. You see the urgency of the moment.

@ TG

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Best Pics Tuesday

  1. micki says:

    Regarding yesterday’s question in thread:

    NDAA = National Defense Authorization Act. No surprise there. NDAA passes each year to continue the work of the bloated defense department, etc.

    But the 2017 version includes passage of the “Countering Disinformation and Propaganda Act” which was quietly inserted into NDAA on Dec 8.
    And now, following Friday’s pre-Christmas Obama signing of the NDAA that evening, the Countering Disinformation and Propaganda Act is now law.

    Like

  2. Den says:

    The question is; who will be determining what is “disinformation and propaganda”.

    The NDAA is a rude joke anyway meant to give the DOD power over everyone laying the groundwork for Neo-Fascism that will be finalized with rich boy.

    Like

  3. Den says:

    VIOLENCE at over a dozen Malls yesterday as the fabric of US society continues to shred.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Snowed overnight. Predicted to snow some more today. I really hafta do some shoveling.

    Like

  5. micki says:

    Our street is rarely plowed, but the more heavily traveled road that it meets is plowed and (sometimes) sanded after nearly every snowfall.

    Well, following the last snowfall, they plowed up our road a bit — but the operator dumped his plow contents RIGHT AT THE END OF MY DRIVEWAY. I had to shovel huge chunks of hardened, icy snow to get the car out on Christmas Day. Darn! I hurt my left hand between thumb and index finger — no big deal, but it’s a reminder how everything is connected and possibly vulnerable with a false move.

    That’s my snow story.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    TNYT on Faux Neuz:

    Like

  7. Den says:

    It certainly looks like his own foundation is crumbling, in an effort to get away from various improprieties in his.

    Like

  8. Den says:

    I suspect if rich boy can get around his felonies and actually occupy the WH the internet as we know it will disappear, the truth will move further out of reach, the media will be subject to prosecution, possible dark days (literally) ahead.

    Here @ DWF we have backup plans in place but will probably vanish with the rest.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    Micki — Complain to your city councilperson.

    Like

    • micki says:

      I would only it did occur to me, since I didn’t witness the plowing, that it’s possible that someone in the neighborhood hired a private contractor to clear their driveway… then the contractor thought he would do us all a favor by clearing the roadway close to the intersection. I know my councilman in this Ward and the councilwoman in the adjacent Ward. I’ll consider inquiring.

      Like

  10. º¿carol says:

    Although it got colder here, it didn’t snow.

    Sheesh, I’m really tired this evening. I made all my internet rounds, I should go vegetate in front o the TV but I’ve been looking thru my pile of notes to myself in front of this monitor. I waited so long to act upon what I’ve written, I’ve been throwing most of them away. Good, and it’s about time I hit that pile. I might do a little more of that then shut down.

    Like

  11. Den says:

    Note to self: Forget all previous notes.

    Like

  12. Den says:

    Not wanting to sound uncaring but all these dead people in Hollywood are sucking up major MSM time while innocents getting bombed out of existence garner 0 coverage.

    Rich boy tweets, everyone listens, fodder for his bumpkins, the news is hosed, even online news is hosed, try finding a site that does not refer to a rich boy tweet somewhere, or another ‘Star’ passing, it’s already getting pretty ugly out there.

    Like

  13. Den says:

    Alfred sez G-nite!

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

