Sunny Sunday

SOLAR WIND SPARKS ARCTIC AURORAS: This weekend, Earth is inside a stream of solar wind flowing from a large hole in the sun’s atmosphere. This is causing bright auroras to dance around the Arctic Circle. Last night in Rovaniemi, Finland, photographer M-P Markkanen witnessed this astounding display:

1a

“I was driving home after midnight when, all of a sudden, I noticed in my rear mirror that the sky had just exploded into incredibly fast moving curtains of green, pink and white,” says Markkanen. “I had to stop the car on the side of the road, and soon I got to witness the most incredible aurora show I’ve ever seen! It evolved into fast pulsing and flashing coronas that lasted for an hour or so. It looked like the whole sky was a big ember on a camp fire! Warmed me up a bit although I felt quite cold by then. It was just mind blowing.”

Arctic sky watchers should remain alert for auroras on Saturday night as the solar wind continues to blow.

@ SPACEWEATHER.com

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. jimhitchcock says:

    Well done, Markkanen.

  2. Den says:

    Robert Reich apparently agrees with some of my assessment of rich boy’s motives:

    I don’t think Donald Trump is a Russian spy, or owes Putin and his oligarchs so much money he’ll do whatever they want him to. I don’t want to fuel conspiracy theories — like Trump did, from the moment Barack Obama was elected, on the subject of Obama’s birth.

    Now, I’ve heard a lot of other people say Trump works for Putin. And there’s a growing amount of circumstantial evidence – Trump’s business ties to Russian oligarchs, his professed admiration for Putin, Putin’s interference in the election on behalf of Trump, Trump’s refusal to accept the conclusions of American intelligence agencies, Trump’s aides and his nominee for Secretary of State who are also close to Putin.

    Given all this, you’d think Trump would provide some proof that he’s not working for Putin. Trump won’t even disclose his tax returns.

    But I’m not going to take a card out of Donald Trump’s playbook and even suggest such a conspiracy. (Of course, that’s exactly what Trump would do if the tables were reversed.) That would be the low road.

    Nor do I think Trump will be tried and convicted for treason. Although, of course, it’s possible.

    • David B. Benson says:

      Treason is defined in the Constitution. Only possible in time of war.

      • Den says:

        I agree, a more apropo The Logan Act (1 Stat. 613, 18 U.S.C. § 953, enacted January 30, 1799 ) is a United States federal law that forbids unauthorized citizens from negotiating with foreign governments having a dispute with the U.S. It was intended to prevent the undermining of the government’s position.

  3. Den says:

    Just had a brown out briefly, Dish dropped out enough to reset, washer and internet still chugging along. Had to move BIG BLUE over to the lot next door for fear of a half dead Live Oak falling on it, it has been leaning precariously and the wind earlier created an audible, from the inside of the house, cracking wood noise, hope the damn thing doesn’t hit the house on it’s way down, I had the park manager and maintenance guy look at it back in August, they were going to remove it after they did other trees, well it’ January and is still there and it causing me undue stress, ugh!

  4. º¿carol says:

    I was washing the few dishes up last night just after dark, Quincy resting from chasing the laser while I cleaned up. Then there was a BIG boom! I jumped, Quincy jumped and started to bark. I opened the back door because that’s where I thought the sound came from, and the pastor next to the church across our cornfield has set off about 3 July 4th fireworks. I let Quincy peek out there with me so he would know what the noise meant.

    Still cold, still no snow.

    Had to once again try to explain something to a woman named Becky. She’s the daughter-in-law of my old friend, Diane. She posted an article about that nut, John McAfee, and what he had to say about our intelligence agencies being wrong about the Russian hacks. Of course, Becky said she believe him, it sounded plausible to her. I asked he why she believe that guy over the 17 agencies and I posted an article about McAfee.

    I’m sure I wasted my time with her, but I always try.

  5. º¿carol says:

    Oh, and I dusted the living room this morning. I’m slowly getting everything back up to snuff. Just the kitchen, and two bedrooms left and they aren’t bad like this computer room was.

  6. Den says:

    Well at least we know now why the bozos wanted the Independent Ethics guys to disappear, Gramma McConnell wants to shove trump appointees through without complete vetting but the Ethics guys are not having none of that as seen here.

  7. David B. Benson says:

    No sun here. Maybe even a little rain.

  8. Den says:

    Well the park manager finally called back, said I could put BIG BLUE up at the office, parked and hobbled the 1/4+ mile back home, there was a parting of the rain until I got to the house then the monsoon continued.

  9. David B. Benson says:

    Not even enough precipitation for the snow makers:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/skiing/2017/01/08/skiing-holidays-threat-drought-means-snow-cannons-will-have/

    But nobody is paying much attention to Madagascar. Dreadful dry…

  10. Den says:

    Still monsooning out there and me with no pontoons. 😦

  11. Den says:

    East Coast cat:

  12. David B. Benson says:

    Still afloat, Den?

Express your views below, politely please.

