Tor Thursday

1a

After the U.S. government published a report on Russia’s cyber attacks against the U.S. election system, and included a list of computers that were allegedly used by Russian hackers, I became curious if any of these hackers had visited my personal blog. The U.S. report, which boasted of including “technical details regarding the tools and infrastructure used by Russian civilian and military intelligence services,” came with a list of 876 suspicious IP addresses used by the hackers, and these addresses were the clues I needed to, in the end, understand a gaping weakness in the report.

An IP address is a set of numbers that identifies a computer, or a network of computers, on the internet. Each time someone loads my website, it logs their IP address. So I searched my web server logs for the suspicious IP addresses, and I was shocked to discover over 80,000 web requests from IPs used by the Russian hackers in the last 14 months! Digging further, I found that some of these Russian hackers had even posted comments (mostly innocuous technical questions)! Even today, several days after publication of the report (which used a codename for the Russian attack, Grizzly Steppe), I’m still finding these suspicious IP addresses in my logs — although I would expect the Russians to stop using them after the U.S. government exposed them.

What is happening? Are elite Russian hackers regular readers of my blog? Am I under cyber attack?

@ TI

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Tor Thursday

  1. micki says:


    David B. Benson says:
    January 11, 2017 at 6:15 PM
    AD?

    Advance Directives. In case the tree topples over on him. Meant as a little humor.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      What is an advanced directive?

      Like

      • micki says:

        An advance health care directive only goes into effect if the person is no longer able to speak for him/herself:

        An advance healthcare directive, also known as living will, personal directive, advance directive, medical directive or advance decision, is a legal document in which a person specifies what actions should be taken (or not taken) for their health if they are no longer able to make decisions for themselves because of illness or incapacity. In the U.S. it has a legal status in itself, whereas in some countries it is legally persuasive without being a legal document.

        A living will is one form of advance directive, leaving instructions for treatment. Another form is a specific type of power of attorney or health care proxy, in which the person authorizes someone (an agent) to make decisions on their behalf when they are incapacitated. People are often encouraged to complete both documents to provide comprehensive guidance regarding their care. An example of combination documents includes the Five Wishes in the United States. EVery adult over 18YO is encouraged to complete an AD while they are well, before illness or accident occurs.

        The completion rate for ADs in the United States varies by region from 18% to 30%.

        La Crosse, Wisconsin, is a huge success story! 96% of adult residents in La Crosse have an Advance Directive. That “movement” was initiated by a medical ethicist at Gunderson Medical Group. It took awhile to reach that number, but the town is proud of their forward thinking.

        Death is 100% is why not Make Your Wishes Known before you can’t?

        Like

  2. Den says:

    Well it appears I am stuck with the terror tree. The Insurance company won’t do anything, the County won’t do anything, the POS MHP won’t do anything so I continue to live in terror.

    Like

    • Den says:

      Oh and I called the owners where I was introduced to their answering machine. Numerous reviews of the company show many one star complaints on their management skills and sloppy maintenance issues. *sigh*

      Everyday more and more assholes interfere with my existence.

      Like

    • º¿carol says:

      Seems it’s up to the owners to take care of the problem. There’s an elm tree next to us on the guy next door’s property. I usually mow that area, it looks like it’s our property because many years ago they put a horse fence up, and it’s not on the property line, so I mowed this side of the fence. The old guy has been getting territorial the past couple years, he’s turned 90 so I think he’s losing it, and he started mowing what I’ve always mowed, even if I just mowed it. I confronted him last summer and asked him WHY he keeps mowing after I mowed. He said it’s because he’s afraid I’m going to steal his property. Sheesh.

      The elm tree died over the past two years and it’s right next to the electric wire that runs from the pole on the edge of the cornfield, to our house. I wanted to get our tree people out here to cut it down, but Norm would probably have a kitten.

      Norm doesn’t live there anymore, place is empty and he’s living with one of his sons. His other son lives across the road and down apiece from us. I put a note in his door yesterday, not about the tree but I added the tree problem to my note. There is a lean-to, junk pile in the middle of Norm’s field and he and some other people were rummaging in it a couple months ago, now every time we have high winds insulation tiles blow all the way over here. I have two up against the side of our house, another big one between my spruce trees that are between our house and Norm’s field, and a HUGE one in the back by our lilacs. I see some are out in the cornfield, too. There was a black, plastic bag jammed in the fence, it scared Quincy on our walk, lol. I poked it out of there onto his grass.

      That’s what I told his son, Dan. That the junk was blowing all over the neighborhood, and then I took the opportunity to mention the dead tree that will fall on our wire eventually. Mostly west winds, that’s the way it will fall, on our wire. Regarding the insulation, I told him I would toss it in my bonfire when I burned the trash, or he could come take it back if he wanted it.

      So, I kind of have a terror tree, too, but it’s not as scary as YOURS, Den! At least mine won’t hit the house, it will just pull the plug.

      Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Read the TI report.

    Well, well.

    Like

  4. Den says:

    The owners responded by chewing the local managers ass followed by a call to me from the aforementioned local manager chewing my ass for going over their heads. The problem is the local manager and worker bee both looked at the tree in August saying then they had to call in and expert to look at it, and that was pure BS because no one ever looked at it.

    The worker bee showed up to inform me an expert would be by to look at it tomorrow and assign it a priority for removal, well I haven’t heard a chainsaw here since September, maybe by June?

    We shall see, hopefully he comes by in the AM when I am here, he needs to do a core test to see if it is rotten in the middle. I am so damn tired of being subject to the whims of the stupids, being made out to be the bad guy when I complain, then getting bitched at when their ineptitude is the issue not a dangerous tree.

    Now two more people don’t like me, they can get in line and join the others, whatever.

    Like

  5. jimhitchcock says:

    Maddow on Feinstein returning to confirmation hearings one day after pacemaker installation:

    “You think she’s old, you think she’s brittle? Diane Feinstein will crush you and the bench press your corpse, and the accept your apology thereafter.”

    (On questioning our newly proposed head of the CIA)

    Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    It rained here last night, lightening and thunder, this morning it was icy. I took off for the rehab down our road, to the next road and turned around in the first driveway. Too scary to drive 25 miles on.

    Headed back to the house then decided to take M-52, which I can see from our house, it gets more traffic than my road, and take that to Grand River Ave., another main artery that runs all the way from Detroit, to Grand Rapids. Those roads weren’t bad, but they were kind of scary in Okemos, driving past the mall and the parking lot at the rehab was REALLY frightening. Got out of the car, hung on to the door handles, and carefully made my way across the road to the unsalted walk. I was scared to death, my shoes are worn out and won’t grip anything. One of the employees saw me and gestured for me to come in that door, which she opened for me. It’s not the door guest use, but she wanted to save me. Wouldn’t you know I burst into tears. I could have kicked myself for that, but I was upset. Don’t know why I didn’t stay the hell home!

    Jill finally got home from Mexico, stopped by to pick up Quincy at 7:45 p.m. and it had rained again. Everything is molded in ice outside, damn. Well, I don’t have to go anywhere tonight so I didn’t bother salting anything. That is for tomorrow.

    Like

  7. jimhitchcock says:

    An old friend on FB quoted the Donnie on Clinton today, saying she lost because she was a lying, treason bitch, not because of Russia, yada yada.

    Well, okay. Whatever.

    Couldn’t help responding thusly, though

    Who cares about HRC. What you should be concerned about is that a lying, supremely egostical, intellectually inferior, emotionally unstable person who brags about grabbing genitalia, being smarter than the generals, has answers for everything (without ever divulging them), mocks the intelligence services whose job it is to inform him, scared shitless of the free press, displays lack of ethics at every opportunity, and communicates by twisted, insecure 140 characters or less tweets, now has been handed the keys to the kingdom. And the fascinating thing is he never wanted this job in the first place.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      He ran for office, so I guess he wanted it, bad. Or do you mean his Ruskie handlers required him too, or else?

      Like

      • jimhitchcock says:

        He did for for ego, not because he wanted it. Now he’s like the dog who caught the car.

        Like

        • micki says:

          Bingo! He got into the campaign to strut his stuff…then knocked off the other 16 clowns in the race by being a playground bully, and thought WTF, this is easy. I can be an asshole and people love it! Now he’s president. What a country.

          Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    Depending upon where the temperature is taken it is either 13 or 3 or 1 °F out. Tomorrow will be just like today so I won’t be going to the concert; too cold.

    Like

  9. Den says:

    Speaking of Knuckleheads, a 1947 Harley Knucklehead:

    Like

  10. Den says:

    Then there is the Republicans:

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

