Sellout Saturday

1a

Find the happy man in this picture.

With only days until Donald Trump takes office, the Obama administration on Thursday announced new rules that will let the NSA share vast amounts of private data gathered without warrant, court orders or congressional authorization with 16 other agencies, including the FBI, the Drug Enforcement Agency, and the Department of Homeland Security.

The new rules allow employees doing intelligence work for those agencies to sift through raw data collected under a broad, Reagan-era executive order that gives the NSA virtually unlimited authority to intercept communications abroad. Previously, NSA analysts would filter out information they deemed irrelevant and mask the names of innocent Americans before passing it along.

The change was in the works long before there was any expectation that someone like Trump might become president. The last-minute adoption of the procedures is one of many examples of the Obama administration making new executive powers established by the Bush administration permanent, on the assumption that the executive branch could be trusted to police itself.

@ TI

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Sellout Saturday

  1. Den says:

    Wow, 8 hours of sleep after Epsom Salts and 4 Advil. Pain started to creep back in this AM, hammered it with Prednisone, receding slowly. I found I have a lung infection in my right upper lobe, any RA meds are off the schedule since they reduce my immune systems ability to fight infection, I don’t need pneumonia too. Luckily I have a full bottle of anti-biotics that seem to be working. I wondered why I was coughing up large rubbery goobers that wouldn’t flush, now I know.

    My reading told me that flare ups can be caused by infections and stress, it’s been one of those weeks. I will try to generate some improvement.

  2. Den says:

    BIG PHARMA owns Congress and the MSM, advancing the theory of making soylent green from the untreated corpses ensuring they will never be caught but will be hailed for a new food product.

  3. Den says:

    Some video distraction:

  4. David B. Benson says:

    At the Old Post Office after a crunchy 27 minute stick walk. Never seen so much of the river iced over, and then with snow on that. Sun reflecting off the highly structured surface of the snow.

    • David B. Benson says:

      The same football game is on all 3 tellies. Some of the ads are the best part.

      I guess it is a Seahawks game.

    • David B. Benson says:

      Cold coming back in the fog. For the first time, my fingers were cold down to the second knuckle and while puffing up College Hill Climb and Maple Street Extension my dentures were chilled. The temperature gauges give 14, 4 and 8 °F and the tips of my fingers down to the first knuckle tingle now that I’m inside.

      Anyway, 56 minutes of stick walking today and that is it for the week.

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Looks to be that the battery in my mobile device is beginning to fail. Even when plugged in the charge level slowly drops when the device is in use.

    Rate might depend upon the charge level…

  6. º¿carol says:

    Good evening. High today was 39°, no precipitation at all.

    Had a message on the answering machine, and an email yesterday. Seems the shoes I reordered are in. I placed the original order November 28th. Didn’t go back to the store to find out about the shoes until maybe January 5th although I did call once, in mid December. They said the order fell off, they had to be reordered, and boom. Here in a week.

    The store is near Bob’s rehab so I drove over there when I left Bob, crowded as hell, got a handicapped parking spot, hooray. Went in, and holy moly…full of people, and shoes on racks down the middle of the store where racks never sit. They must have had a big, heavily advertised sale.

    I walked to the counter by the door, tried to ask a woman if that was where I could pick up the shoes, she told me to get in the line, WAY down there. I tried to ask her once again if that was where I would pick up the shoes they ordered for me back in November, she told me to get in the line then finally said, yes, this is where you would take care of that. Damn people, why are people so rude everywhere? Is it because I’m old? I bet it is. I see how people treat me, especially when I’m standing with my kids. They always look at them, talk to them before they would talk to me, and I’m the gregarious one. Always chatty, always funny, always smiling.

    I walked to the the end of the line, stood there 1 minute then left. If I’ve put up with no shoes for this long, I could certainly wait until Monday to pick them up.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Why are people so rude everywhere? Two days ago, after leaving Bob, I went to the Penney’s store at the Meridian Mall which is also near where Bob is. I needed a particular set of curtains. I parked at the back of the store where the kid’s clothes are, home wares next to it, a checkout counter by the door. The counter had two closed signs on it. I went to the curtain department, they didn’t have them, will have to order them on-line, of course. Remembered I needed a new pillow for the bed, actually found a feather pillow, but where to check out? Walk way out into the middle of the stupid store?

    Instead, I walked back to the curtains where an employee was sitting at a desk. Asked her where I could pay for the pillow because the counter by the door was closed. She pointed out toward the middle of the store, and I said something like, “Way out there? I parked back here by this door.” She then said she could help me, and she rang me up at a register she had there. WHY did she tell me to go to the middle of the store in the first place when she was perfectly capable of ringing me up? Probably because I’m old. I bet ya. Geez, two bad experiences in a row with store employees. That doesn’t usually happen to me, most folks are nice and I can charm them so they get over me being old, lol.

    Anyway, that was my day(s).

    • David B. Benson says:

      With a full employment economy it is harder to hire good employees.

      I doubt it is your age…

      • º¿carol says:

        I’ve noticed the past several years how people treat me when younger people are around me. They always are more interested in the younger people. It’s a weird feeling to find out how inconsequential one is.

      • micki says:

        “Full employment” is such a misnomer.

    • jimhitchcock says:

      I love you. You stand up for yourself. This is like a scene from Brazil.

      • º¿carol says:

        Thanks, Jim, love you, too. Yeah, I do stand up for myself. I can’t just take it, the shoe store lady, I wouldn’t go to the end of the line until she answered my damn question. It was a legitimate question. What if I would have stood in the line only to find out I had to go to another part of the store for the shoes? I would have been livid, wasting my time just standing there. Like everyone, I have better things to do than wait in a line somewhere.

  7. º¿carol says:

    Bob said he’s ready to come home. I think he should, too. We can do for him what they do over there and it won’t cost us anything. Jill has a per diem job besides her regular job as a physical therapist assistant. We’re hiring her place to help with Bob when he first comes home, and Jill will be his PTA. I’ll feed him as I have for 53 years, Jill will help him exercise and he’ll have a decent TV and the blessed DVR AND his computer and Quincy to lick his face.

    As for health insurance, Monday is his 20th day in the rehab, the cut off date. Starting on the 21st we have to pay $150 per day until $3,000 has been taken out of our pocket, then I guess the insurance is back in force. We don’t want to pay a dime because we have very little money as it is. Bob’s millionaire brother told us to not worry, he would pay the bill, but I’d like for him to not have to do that. If Bob is ready to come home, that would be perfect.

    Yesterday, Bob had such a good day, today he didn’t. 😦 Yesterday it seemed like he should come home, today I’m not so sure. *sigh* I think he should come home, no matter how he’s feeling, especially as long as HE thinks so. After all, it’s up to him.

    • jimhitchcock says:

      It’s up to him, period. Nobody else gets the decision.

      • micki says:

        Yup. If he can speak for himself…it’s his decision

        (As long as the facility doesn’t call in some kind of social services pooh-bah who “assesses the situation” and “determines” that the home situation is not adequate to meeting his care needs.)

  8. º¿carol says:

    I just ate a hunk of sharp cheddar. Cheese is soooo good, so why does it have to be bad for us? I rarely buy cheese BECAUSE it’s bad for us, but I had a hunk of cheddar left over from Christmas. Opened the pack 3 days ago, and now…it’s gone! I enjoyed every minute of it. Mmmm.

  9. Den says:

    Doc in case you missed it I left you a link for a cell phone repair place there in town that might have batteries, look up ↑

  10. Den says:

    Carol, folks are rude no doubt, bad service is becoming the norm, I usually find the office and raise a stink when they are real bad, they hire the worthless, pay them next to nothing, and expect Nordstrom performance, bitching to the right people about shitty service usually gets discount coupons too.

    By the way, no one likes geezers, wrinkly old buzzards, not pleasing to the beauty trained eye.

    I did when I was younger, most elders were better to be around than kids my age, I was born old. Millennials seem to be worse than other groups as of late.

    There are good ones and those I pay back with a thank you and a complement for a good job, I always praise good service.

  11. Den says:

    The NEW improved Instant Chicken!

  12. jimhitchcock says:

    When I turned 55 or so, Save mart checkers started asking me if I needed any help out to my car tonight.
    .First time: “See me in 20 years”

    Next week “25 years”

    Then, 30 years, before I revert back to 20.

    When the old Save Mart closed in prep to change to Food Maxx, the new one I started shopping at started the routine all over. It’s kind of a running gag 🙂

Express your views below, politely please.

