Saturday Reading

1a

Love is in the air as the American Legislative Exchange Council cozies up to the Real Donald.

ALEC and Trump are unlikely lovers. One gets excited about slamming borders shut, raising tariffs on imports, and promising massive infrastructure spending ($1 trillion in borrowed money says Steve Bannon), the other has never seen a free trade agreement it hasn’t embraced and objects to spending programs that might actually grow jobs.

But ALEC is casting doubts aside and is ready to guide Trump to mutual fulfillment.

This is a big change of heart for one of the nation’s largest associations of far-right politicians and corporate lobbyists.

No Trump backers were spotted at the ALEC meeting in San Diego in 2015. The Times of San Diego described how famed Fox pollster Frank Luntz asked the ALEC luncheon crowd at the Manchester Grand Hyatt:

“How many of you are supporting Donald Trump?”

The reply?

“Crickets,” wrote the paper. “None of the hundreds of American Legislative Exchange Council members or guests, including more than 400 lawmakers, said a word.”

Moreover, ALEC stalwarts like ALEC President Leah Vukmir, a State Senator from Wisconsin, were part of a “never Trump” team that first endorsed Marco Rubio, before rallying behind Ted Cruz, helping to put Wisconsin into the unlikely Cruz column in the GOP primary.

My, have times changed.

@ TRUTHOUT

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Saturday Reading

  1. Den says:

    Time to heat up the tar and pluck some feathers to wash down the whole insane clown administration, wannabe kleptocratic, authoritarian, fascist fucks in dire need of purging.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Just 26 minutes to the Old Post Office despite the rain and the standing water on the trail at one point. River is way up, on the edge of flood stage.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Thence speedily to home through the fog; daily stick walking total is 50 minutes.

      Day 7: 298+50=348 minutes in a winter week.

      Like

  3. º¿carol says:

    Got up to 66° today, wow. Solid sunshine, too. All my solar lights are brightly lit right now, even the ones who haven’t popped on in months. I did have to change a battery in one.

    You know what? I just gave Bob his breathing treatment, and he’s eating a couple Toaster Strudels…I think I’m going to go out and have a couple beers! I haven’t done that since he went into the hospital December 21st. I’ll have two beers, bet they knock me over, lol. My body won’t know what the heck hit it. Yeah, I think I’ll go outside for a little bit.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Gail Collins well skewers The Donald today.

    Like

  5. jimhitchcock says:

    I live on the side of a hill

    So my home is 2nd story at ground level, my tenant walks down stairs to her unit.

    Must have been the weather, last week I heard a mouse scrabbling behind the wall of my bedroom. Building a nest?

    Set a Victor Damage Kill trap, primed with Skippys, along the wall by my bed.

    Saw that fucker streaking past that wall on Thursday, streaking, a blur. Must have leaped the trap.

    Early Saturday morning, it wasn’t so lucky. Gone to join it’s ancestors.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Consider hiring an owl.

      Like

    • º¿carol says:

      I hate killing them, I’ve gone thru several ‘live traps’ and they are ALL a fail. 😦 So,l I have my kill trap set all the time. In the kitchen where the cupboards meet the wall, there’s a gap in the floor molding on the floor against the wall, and that’s a favorite way in for the mice. That’s where I set the kill trap. I could put one under the sink, too, ALWAYS caught them there. That’s where I tried out the live traps.

      I really, REALLY hate killing them.

      Like

  6. º¿carol says:

    I’m back, and VERY happy. A little bit of the medicinal, a couple beers (4) and a nice wander around the ranch. I even went down the drive, walked the road over to the drive next door, the empty house, and came back home thru my trails. Beautiful night, all my solar lights happy and a sky full of stars, a brilliant Jupiter, I think, sinking in the western sky. VERY bright, reddish-looking.

    Our little iPad thing has an app where I could take it outside, point it up at the sky and the night sky would appear and be labeled. But I’m always too lazy to go in and get the thing. Heck, I don’t even know how to turn it on, then maneuver on it…I just have Bob do it. He uses the tablet, understands it.

    To repeat, had a good time. Lots of plans for my flower beds this spring. I do all the dreaming now, and a few of my plans will actually be accomplished.

    Think I’ll work on some of my projects, then play a video game. I dusted off my King Kong game last night and created a new profile, so I’m starting over from the beginning. My favorite levels are the ones I get to fight dinosaurs!

    Too bad I don’t play it like I used to. I made a spread sheet on Excel just to track the score and achievements of my many profiles. I was in competition with myself. It’s been so long since I was that dedicated and keeping stats, since I’m starting all over…My scoring SUCKS!

    But it’s fun, and that’s why I started playing it again. Fought some velociraptors last night. When I’m in good form, lots of practice, they don’t get the best of me. It was awful last night. Took me 5 tries to get thru that level, lol.

    Like

  7. º¿carol says:

    Doc, I asked Jill what Brian paid for that Corvette. $4,000. *phew* When you said it could be $17,000, I about shit. That would have been such a cardinal waste of money to me, I was bummed. THANK goodness it was a steal, a deal, a steal of a deal.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    Zachary Wolfe writes a great review of a great performance:

    which indicates something of why I so love opera. There is a 1:23 minute snippet of one of the tenor arias from “Werther”.

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    Jim, at least you don’t have the mice falling on your head:
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/02/18/city-hall-mouse-problem-causes-london-assembly-members-beg-sadiq/
    London proposes cats.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

