Ocean Bomb Trash Thursday

1a

The USA, Trashing the Oceans for over 70 years and still going strong.

The “Baker” explosion at Bikini Atoll, Micronesia, on 25 July 1946.

For the next two decades, the US Navy will inject hundreds of thousands of pounds of flares and billions of metal-coated glass fibers into ocean waters off the coasts of Washington and Oregon.

When the last two decades are added in, the Navy will have left behind more than half a million pounds of flares and trillions of microfibers of chaff (a radar countermeasure dropped by aircraft) by the year 2037.

Additionally, as Truthout previously reported, upcoming naval exercises will inject 20,000 tons of heavy metals and explosives into the seas.

These shocking numbers are due to a widespread domestic military expansion, which entails a dramatic uptick in the number of naval training exercises conducted each year.

When one looks more closely at what it means for that much toxic material to be added to the oceans, the news becomes even more disconcerting.

@ TRUTHOUT

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ocean Bomb Trash Thursday

  1. Den says:

    DOD = Disrespecting Oceans Daily

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    To Liddell & Reed downtown in 23 minutes for a wine & cheese get together. Now at the Black Cypress for dinner. Clear today, river going down.

    Like

  3. micki says:

    My FCNL Advocacy Team met today with Senator Patty Murray’s Northwest Regional Director. Our intent was to make our case as to why Murray should vote against ALL Pentagon budget increases — we included in our “ask” that Murray should make a public statement against budget increases for the Pentagon, noting that the department is the only unaudited department in the federal government. The DoD doesn’t lack funds, it lacks fiscal responsibility. Murray is so DEEP into the munitions’ industry, I’m not holding my breath.

    Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Good evening. Didn’t make it here yesterday, I’ve no excuse except the volume of reading there is now with the monster in the White House. Today, the damn budget. Meals on Wheels, the Great Lakes and the list goes on.

    I’m going to visit my political internet friend on Tuesday. Her nickname is Snotty. I’ve probably mentioned her before. I can’t wait to sit at her kitchen table, drinking coffee and talking politics. I’m making a cake for to take over there, last time Jill whipped up her famous bean dip for me to take. It was wildly popular with Snotty, and me. Love that recipe.

    It’s exciting for more than just talking politics, it will be wonderful to talk to someone that isn’t Bob, Pete or Jill. A peer who isn’t family. I’m freer to talk to outsiders than family. Bob gets sick of politics, Jill hates it and won’t let me talk about it but Pete is with it and up on current events. I can talk to him, and I can REALLY talk to his wife. She’s really into politics, like her mother-in-law, lol.

    So, Tuesday is my day out. Woo hoo! It’s also a day w/o Quincy so I won’t have to worry about getting home to feed him. Bob will be ok without me, so no worries there. We’ve probably had the last of our snow, which is almost all gone today.

    I’m actually going to go out for a beer walk after I post this. I need to be on my feet. Way too much sitting around when I’m in the house, unless I’m cooking or cleaning. Not a lot of cleaning, but always cooking, lol.

    I think Trump dumped his own tax returns.

    Like

  5. Den says:

    Rod Serling returns from the dead to warn us about rich boy.

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    I thought Den ought read this:

    Not shabby.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

