Sunny Sunday

SIGNIFICANT SOLAR FLARE: Sunspot AR2644 erupted on April 1st, producing a significant M4-class solar flare. NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory recorded the explosion’s extreme UV flash:

1a

UV radiation from the flare caused a brief shortwave radio blackout on the Pacific side of Earth: map. People who might have noticed the blackout include ham radio operators and mariners using low-frequency rigs for communication at frequencies below 10 MHz.

The explosion also hurled a coronal mass ejection (CME) into space: image. The cloud is not heading directly for Earth, but a glancing blow is possible in the days ahead. NOAA analysts are evaluating this possibility now.

@ SPACEWEATHER.com

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. micki says:

    I’m in Portland this weekend…yesterday was drizzly, grey…today, the sun is smiling! The blooms are gorgeous and perky! Waaaaaaay ahead of Bellingham on that front.

    Have a wonderful day DWFs!

    Like

  2. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Today is my mother’s birthday. She would have been 102. Egads!

    Like

  3. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    It was 61° with sunshine so at 1:00 p.m. I went outside and started picking up sticks, putting them in piles here and there to be picked up later with the tractor and cart. Only did the front of the ranch, both sides of the drive. I should have gone in the back and finished up but didn’t want to push myself. I’ll probably be sorry later as it is, so I SHOULD have just wrapped it up.

    I fired up the tractor, she started, and I went for a ride on the trails next door. Found the missing wood from the big hole in the old barn over there. Wow, wind can sure do tricks. It ripped out enough of the panel of particle board where if I lowered my head I could walk into the barn. Think of the power that was exerted to make tear that board like that.

    I also went down to my mailbox with the tiny tube of white paint I bought and using a Q-tip smeared the white onto the 4197. Looks like shit. I better buy a new set of numbers for the post. Until then, our address is back to being legible.

    Like

  4. Den says:

    Tree mess is THEIR problem, chainsaws coming back Monday to whittle it down and haul it off, I hope. 72 and poofy clouds today.

    Rode up the road till I hit snow, took some pics and left, beer thirty o’clock now.

    Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Took 25 minutes to the Old Post Office. Passed a pair of crows along the way.

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Drink ’till ya sprinkle:

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

