Sunny Sunday

DOUBLE RAINBOW: Whenever you see one rainbow, look for another, because rainbows always come in pairs. Consider this example, photographed by Kamila Mazurkiewicz Osiak of Trzcianki, Poland, on April 13th:

1a

“This huge double rainbow appeared after an intense rainstorm passed through our area,” says Osiak. “It was raining so hard, it looked like the clouds were walking on the ground.”

The bright inner rainbow is the primary bow, caused by sunbeams reflecting once inside falling raindrops. It’s the bow you usually see. The less-bright outer rainbow is the secondary bow, caused by sunbeams reflecting twice inside raindrops. Secondary bows often go unnoticed, because they are usually very faint, but they are always there.

In Osiak’s case, “you couldn’t miss it,” she says. Bright sunlight lancing through the clearing clouds struck droplet-laden air behind the retreating storm, resulting in an unusually intense secondary bow.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    The Easter Bunny skipped my place, no eggs, no candy, bupkis.

    😦

  2. David B. Benson says:

    A bunting! Another! With yellow flashes. Never before seen in Pullman.

  3. Den says:

    Should have named it Soggy Sunday, the drip drip of Mother Natures tears as we slowly destroy her planet.

    How’s that for uplifting?

    Hippity-hop, hippity-hop, SPLASH!

  4. David B. Benson says:

    TVD bridge route in a slow 54 minutes. Two pigeons, two little black birds, a magpie and a flying crow. Warm when the sun is out.

  5. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    I see the people of Turkey made the wrong choice today, as I figured they would. Marie Le Pen will probably win in France, too.

    As for Turkey, maybe their Trump, Erdogen, stuffed the ballot boxes to assure he is given more power than he should have.

  6. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    I’m trying to put my Kaspersky AV program on Bob’s computer. I uninstalled his free AVG and Kasperky kept insisting it was still there. It was NOT there, dammit. I uninstalled 3 separate AVG programs in ADD/REMOVE programs. Pete went through the services to make sure AVG wasn’t lurking there, it wasn’t, but he got rid of a short cut.

    I finally unchecked the box in Kaspersky that said AVG was there and THEY would get rid of it, but then never did, so I unchecked the box and told Kasp to install program anyway.

    Of course, it wants to update it to the current version and since I lost my internet speed yesterday it’s taking forever. It’s said there are “about 20 seconds left” a half hour ago. 😦

    Yeah, Bob’s AVG was acting weird, I couldn’t fix it so I suggested we ditch it and use my Kaspersky. When I bought mine it was good for 3 computers, Bob’s computer will be number three. I have 381 days left of my subscription, woo hoo!

    Once it’s done downloading I hope the code I put in works and it doesn’t give me any crap. I managed to put it on this computer when I got it, I should win this round, too.

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Amazing. I am the only person in this room of the Hillside Cafe. Did all the students go home for Easter weekend?

  8. jimhitchcock says:

    Holy shit, is CNN et al ramping up for war against NK? Has the world gone insane?

    • micki says:

      Déjà vu all over again! The hawks — both Dem and Repub — and their willing media sycophants will convince the easily duped (just like when we invaded/attacked Iraq), that war is “their” answer.

      The world has gone nutz.

  9. Den says:

    Tired Pagan cat:

Express your views below, politely please.

