Saturday Glass Fest

1a.jpg

One of the most eagerly anticipated exhibitions this year is the New York Botanical Garden’s CHIHULY — featuring glass installations by living legend Dale Chihuly, whose organic forms have been showcased around the world (in 1996, Chihuly’s they were rigged over the canals of Venice). The stunning show opens Saturday, April 22nd.

Chihuly has pushed the boundaries of glassblowing for decades, and this show, essentially a Chihuly career retrospective set for the outdoors, shows 40 years of glass work that was made in studios around the globe. Chihuly, who just turned 75 years old, studied interior design and weaving in college before eventually devoting himself to glass. He received a full-ride scholarship to the University of Wisconsin’s glass art program (the first such program in the nation) in 1966, and won a Fulbright scholarship to study with Venetian glassblowers in 1968.

Lots of pics @ THE GOTHAMIST

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Saturday Glass Fest

  1. Den says:

    Amazing!

    Like

  2. Den says:

    My pal Sal:

    My old pal Sal paid me a visit today,

    had to get to the crapper right away!

    It’s the last time I order chicken Chinese,

    next time it will be steak if you please.

    Like

  3. micki says:

    Dr. B….I’m not certain how to start a petition on CREDO and not likely to go that route in any event. I’ll be glad to send you some info and YOU can start a petition! (if the topic is of interest to you, that is.)

    Using the Friends Committee on National Legislation model of building relationships with our elected officials (regardless of their party affiliation), I have regular contact with Rep. Rick Larsen’s staff, locally and in Washington DC; I also have contact with Senators Maria Cantwell’s and Patty Murray’s NW Washington Regional directors (though not as frequently as with Rick’s).

    This isn’t a boast, but my FCNL training has worked so well, that elected officials CALL ME on occasion to thank me for a letter to the editor, ask my opinion/thoughts on an issue, etc.

    I wrote a yesterday morning to Rick’s local B’ham legislative liaison and to his DC Legislative Director seeking the Congressman’s cosponsorship on the bipartisan Palliative Care and Hospice Education and Training Act (HR. 1676). By early afternoon, I got an email from Terra Sabag in Wash DC office thanking me for reaching out on the bill — and she informed me that Rep. Larsen would be added as a cosponsor.

    For me, this is more effective than signing petitions. Not to devalue or denigrate petitions, but I believe that the “personal” contact carries a lot more clout than a petition.

    When I send an email to friends, family, “likely suspects” asking for their support to spread the word on policy issues, my hope is that they’ll reach out to their networks and do the same.

    If enough of us “personally” contact our elected officials, it can generate results.

    Call me Pollyanna…but we’d better start looking for some common ground, or we are TOAST!

    Like

  4. Den says:

    I am embedded in the most Repuglican district in CA, talking to McClintok or La Malfa is completely impossible as the town meetings have proven. 9 out of 10 people on the street where I live are puggers and dumber than stumps, anything beyond the simplest conversation is impossible, sad. 😦

    Like

  5. Den says:

    Hundreds of these morons in the area, *COUGH*

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Home from the final Washington Idaho Symphony concert of the 45th season. It was in the medieval style 1907 administration auditorium at the University of Idaho in Moscow. Kirill the violinist gave me a ride in his new Honda minivan. The program was all Beethoven and well done. Exquisite. Afterwards Keadrin took a picture of Alice and me. I’ll send that to Den as well.

    So, no more concerts until late August unless I can catch the community band playing in the park.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Local excitement! A small fire truck arrived for a short stay at the house of the Mimn.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

