Renewable Energy Wednesday

File photo of workers cleaning photovoltaic panels inside a solar power plant in Gujarat

China and India have knocked the United States off the top spot of the index of best places to invest in renewables. Analysts cite the impact of Trump’s policies in favor of coal and petroleum.

Meanwhile, as Trump talks up a return of coal in the US, global coal markets have been shaken to the core by the Indian government’s decision to cancel planned 14 gigawatts of coal plants. They took the decision because solar power has fallen in price so dramatically that the coal plants were no longer competitive.

India’s plans for so many dirty coal plants had raised alarms among climate activists, who suggested that they would make it impossible for New Delhi to meet its emissions reduction goals under the Paris climate treaty. That consideration has now been removed.

Solar’s share of India’s electricity output increased 80 percent last year.. India added 10 gigawatts of solar in 2016. It has a goal of 100 gigawatts from solar by 2022.

The renewable energy sector in India already accounts for 60,000 jobs, and will add a similar number by 2022.

@ TRUTHDIG

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Renewable Energy Wednesday

  1. Den says:

    If rich boy really wanted to create jobs, renewable energy is the perfect medium to do so.

    But instead, rich boy would rather beat the dead oil horse a bit longer, what a fool.

    Like

  2. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DEN!

    Guess who didn’t finish your card yet, I’m afraid it’s going to be late.

    Like

  3. Den says:

    A 6-pak day, no willing participants to help, Wednesday duh, I can party comfortably by myself, I’m old enough to do so. Not driving anywhere, CHEERS!!!

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Took 25 minutes in the light sprinkle to the Old Post Office. A quail and later “chiCAgo” from another. The hillside is in full glory with lavender and white flowers from one species; even a few pink ones this year. Some very small cornflower blue ones from a species I don’t recall seeing before; no actual cornflowers so far this season. A flock of what seem to be pigeons on the top of an old grain elevator.

    Like

    • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

      The two baby doves in a nest on our garage patio are ready to leave. The mom and dad absent most of the day, probably trying to lure them out of the nest. They were still there when it got dark, might have been a parent with them for their last night, hard to tell. Bet everyone is gone in the morning, before I ever step outside. Tomorrow morning though, I may peek out there when I’m making our coffee. Curiosity is my middle name.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Round trip took 54 minutes again. A tidings of magpies and the flowers come in even more variations between deep lavender and iridescent white than I had thought.

      Day 4: 159+54=213 minutes.

      Like

  5. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    My story of the house next door that I posted on Facebook:

    The other shoe has dropped. 😦 Someone is buying the house next door, there goes my beautiful trail project, and everything else I mow over there to make the place pretty.

    The eager, ebullient, gregarious 21 year old came over to Joe’s Fence and called to me and introduced herself. Her dad came over to talk, too. I guess I’m not unhappy, she doesn’t have kids and no dogs, just a single girl that doesn’t want to pay rent all her life. Her aunt just bought the ranch house on M-52, maybe 1000 feet from our corner. Her parents live on Oakley, the house with the apple orchard. They seem to be good, upstanding people.

    I can keep mowing, she won’t get around to outside stuff until maybe next summer since the house was gutted by the previous owner’s son. No furnace, no pipes, the kitchen sink is gone and god know’s what else. It’s a beehive, too. LOTS of work to get the house livable.

    And on that note, I’m going for a walk on MY trails. They’re still mine, she said they’re still negotiating with the owner.

    Like

  6. Micki says:

    Den…sorry I’m late to the party, but I hope you had a swell birthday, with your 6-pak abs as Carol depicts them! 😉

    I hope all (well most – can’t be greedy!) your wishes come true!

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Coffeeology:

    Don’t be a drip.

    Take time to smell the coffee.

    Better latte than never.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. David B. Benson says:

    My mobile device managed to forget abuncha shortcuts. 😦

    Won’t relearn, either. 😦 😦

    Like

  9. David B. Benson says:

    The furnace came on.

    Like

  10. jimhitchcock says:

    I hope Den is celebrating his birthday age appropriately.

    Like

  11. Autumn Cote says:

    Would you be OK if I cross-posted this article to WriterBeat.com? I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as thge author. There is no fee; I’m simply trying to add more content diversity for our community and I liked what you wrote. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

