Tooth Grinder Tuesday

1a

Hey Billy, I can see the top of your head!

It shouldn’t have been a shock when my tooth broke off, but of course, it was.

For months, my jaw and teeth have been in a constant state of clenching and grinding. Now, a molar had broken in half, pushed over the edge by one bite of a salted caramel cookie and a steady diet of political news-induced stress.

Research shows that as much as 70 percent of bruxism (the medical term for jaw and tooth grinding) occurs as a result of stress and anxiety. For me, the issue started after November’s election, when, like millions of other Americans (or to be exact, 57 percent, according to the American Psychological Association) my anxiety level ratcheted up to an all-time high and stayed that way, thanks to the relentless stream of Trump and Republican-related nightmares we’ve been bombarded with ever since.

In 2017, there is no escaping the news or the stress that it can bring. All we can do is try to find a balance between staying informed and staying sane — and I, for one, am failing. Like a lab rat hitting a feeder bar, I tap every mobile news alert. I refresh the same news outlets multiple times a day, then text stories to my friends to share in the outrage. I read Twitter after I go to bed. Then, apparently, I grind my teeth to their studs in my sleep.

@ HUFFPO

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tooth Grinder Tuesday

  1. Den says:

    Went out an whacked some weeds so the TP monkeys didn’t have to, no telling what they would mow down next. It looked like they spent a bit of time trying to whack my roses only the deer screen stopped their string line, major assholes.

    And I wonder why I grind my teeth, between rich boys gang of unfriendly mobsters and the Trailer Park monkeys, I’m stressed, grrrrrrrind!

    Like

  2. Michele N. says:

    Unfortunately, I can totally relate.

    Like

  3. jimhitchcock says:

    Oh my, Forbes Magazine.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Grace Hopper’s obit appeared in TNYT a few weeks ago; she was the first to debug a computer by removing a moth jamming the Harvard Mark I. While reading Jean Sammet’s obit today, I knew Jean slightly, I found out that if COBOL had a mother, it was Jean and not Grace, who has the title. Likely she convinced the DoD to set the requirement for COBOL.

    Whatever, today’s obituary states there are 200 billion lines of code in COBOL, growing at one percent per annum.

    Like

  5. Den says:

    Apple having a new product release:

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Just up to Larry Street and back as becoming dark; 41 minutes. A crow flying to a resting place in a tree; a cottontail that I surprised.

    The structure being worked on since early last fall is going to be the new Starbucks, across the street from the current one.

    Day 3: 151+41=192 minutes.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

