Noctilucent Sunday

NOCTILUCENT CLOUD ACTIVITY: Sky watchers in Europe are reporting bright displays of noctilucent clouds this weekend. “Strands of electric-blue started showing very early, just after midnight BST on July 1st,” says Andy Stables, who sends this picture from Milovaig on Isle of Skye, Scotland:

1a

“They gradually grew brighter and more extensive as our twilight arc shifted into the north, reaching peak intensity around 2am,” he says.

This and other displays like it are telling us something about the weather in Earth’s mesosphere: It’s very cold up there. Noctilucent clouds form when summertime wisps of water vapor rise to the top of the atmosphere and wrap specks of meteor smoke with fragile crystals of ice. This process requires temperatures as low as 145 K (-128 C). In early June, an unexpected heat wave in the mesosphere temporarily wiped out noctilucent clouds. Their return proves that the heat wave is over.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Noctilucent Sunday

  1. Den says:

    The Earth has many phenomenon all beautiful in Nature.

    Like

  2. Den says:

    Rich boy the wannabe Fascist is further defacing the media in an effort to turn wacko whites into media haters which is an essential part of creating the Fascism he so dearly pines for.

    Like

  3. Den says:

    What day of the year do we celebrate American Violence in all it’s blood spewing glory?

    Like

    • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

      Um, on Memorial Day, Veteran’s Day, many holidays seem to celebrate war. The low I.Q. folk want to celebrate soldiers on every holiday. Tons of people think July 4th is a day to praise soldiers.

      Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    David B. Benson says:
    June 30, 2017 at 12:27 PM

    Seems to me you do alotta work. Just not work work.

    That’s true, Doc. But everything I have to do around here I did when I actually DID have a job outside the home. At least now I don’t have to leave the house to do someone else’s work. I don’t get paid for what I do at home, except I guess you could say I have room and board, and food and clothes. That’s my payment.

    Of course, staying out of the working world for as much as I did, I didn’t get to put much into Social Security. That is the problem for women who stayed home to take care of the family. 😦

    Like

  5. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Speaking of “beautiful nature,” I’m enjoying watching the daddy orioles feed their teenagers. THAT’S why the grape jelly I put out there every day has to be replenishes 3 or 4 times. That was so unusual but then I happened to be in the kitchen and saw all the action. I keep waiting for, and so does the dad, for the kid to catch on to dipping his beak in the jelly.

    The same is happening with the purple finches, the dads keep bringing their teenagers to the jelly. The young are so cute in how they squeal and vibrate their wings, begging for food. The dads are probably sick of it all, lol.

    Like

  6. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Trip to Ohio to see Bob’s brother and sister-in-law cancelled. Barbara has a kidney infection and has been on meds that turn her urine bright red, lol. She said she never spent so much time sleeping on the couch in her life, she’s just so damn tired. And they have a cruise to go on July 9, taking their two granddaughters. I told her when her urine turns green, it’s a go.

    So, we’re not going to Ohio. Barbara said she can’t face company and cooking. It’s shocking, but she’s going to be 80 in August~! Holy, moly. Steve, too. I have to come up with a couple of nifty birthday cards for them for that awful milestone.

    Time to go outside. Hummingbirds disappeared for the past couple days, I don’t have many flowers they like at this time but I have Tiger Lilies and Hostas that will be blooming soon. I think they went to visit somewhere with flowers. However, I DID see one today outside the kitchen window. I hope that means they’ll be meandering back. Maybe he was the only one, but when my flowers bloom they’ll be back.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Temperature still in the upper 80s.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    TVD bridge return in 55 minutes; slow. A quail stayed perched on the fence as I went by on the far side of the path; fearless but watching me the whole time.

    Like

  9. Den says:

    Press here:

    Like

  10. jimhitchcock says:

    Thank you John Oliver for getting me to check out which local channels are owned by Sinclair Broadcasting.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

