Weiners Thursday

1a

Joey hitting his stride.

“I slowed down quite a bit, and I was sweating like a mad dog,” Chestnut said after his tenth win in eleven years. “It was a great run, but I know I can do better. Next year if I come back you can bet I’ll be pushing harder.”

And still!

By eating a world-record 72 hot dogs in 10 minutes, Joey Chestnut wins a 10th Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating contest. Simply the best. pic.twitter.com/rdl4iOqPK1
— ESPN (@espn) July 4, 2017

Matt Stonie, the only Nathan’s competitor to ever dethrone Chestnut, came in third this humid July 4th with 48 dogs. Second place went to number-three-ranked Carmen Cincotti who surpassed his 2016 total: 60 dogs, up from 42 last year.

@ THE GOTHAMIST

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weiners Thursday

  1. Micki says:

    What a country! Competitive eating. Before you know it, the USA will want to make it an Olympics’ event.

    Truly disgusting. (IMO)

    Like

  2. Den says:

    I am becoming terrified of the news with lunatics at the helm that no one seems to want to stop.

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    Low 90s today.

    Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    David B. Benson says:
    July 5, 2017 at 1:47 PM

    Whose twin?

    My daughter-in-law Sara’s identical twin, Nancy.

    Like

  5. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    When I saw that hot dog guy’s name yesterday, I scrolled on by. The very idea of stuffing that many hot dogs into himself makes me sick. *blech*

    Like

  6. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Kind of hot today at 85°. Not enough breeze. Think I’ll go out and start watering. Wish we would get a decent rain.

    Like

  7. David B. Benson says:

    Took 27 minutes to get to the Old Post Office today. I’m slowing down.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Round trip was 59 minutes; even slower returning. Still hot out.

      Day 5: 311+59=370 minutes.

      Like

      • David B. Benson says:

        Still sweaty.

        Like

        • David B. Benson says:

          Leads to sneezes.

          Like

        • Den says:

          A cool shower will help.

          Like

        • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

          I was going to take a shower, then saw the time and remembered that tomorrow I was going to sweat the day away by working outside. Labor. Might as well put the shower on hold until tomorrow night much as I HATE going to bed w/o a shower in the summer. That proves how old I’m getting, that I can talk myself out of that. Sheesh.

          Like

  8. Den says:

    The perils of Ford ownership:

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

