Wrecking Ball Tuesday

1a

In the Bay Area, public meetings critical of conservatives are not hard to find. But when about 200 San Francisco military veterans jammed into an auditorium in their city’s Veterans War Memorial Building in mid-April, they added diversity to the local “resistance.” Those in attendance—representatives of veterans-service organizations, patients of the Veterans Health Administration, health-policy experts, and local Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi—were trying to educate veterans and the public about proposals that could destroy a single-payer plan for 9 million Americans whose past military service, in combat and noncombat jobs, makes them eligible for VHA coverage.

The threat—faced by VHA users and staff (one-third of whom are veterans themselves)—is privatization. The Trump administration has no trouble boosting an already swollen Pentagon budget. But it favors only a modest increase in VHA funding, most of which would be spent on steering veterans’ care toward non-VHA doctors and hospitals and to for-profit companies for services like audiology and optometry. As part of their ever-expanding outsourcing strategy, Trump’s Republican allies—and even some Democrats—have demonized VHA employees and attacked their workplace rights and union protections. Meanwhile, according to a number of VHA clinicians I have recently spoken with, VHA leadership is making it difficult for facilities to hire needed staff. An in-house electronic medical-records system that’s one of the best in the country is slated to be replaced by one produced by a private vendor. More importantly, Congress is considering legislation that could pave the way for agency dismantling.

@ THE NATION

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wrecking Ball Tuesday

  1. Den says:

    There is nothing the puggers will not mess with, now the VA?

    Stop your stupid wars DOD and you will not have so many to care for, duh!

    Like

    • Micki says:

      Stop your stupid wars DOD and you will not have so many to care for, duh!

      No kidding! I get so tired of politicians such as Senator Patty Murray who yammers incessantly about “supporting our troops…supporting our veterans…honoring those who keep us safe…blah blah blah”…yet, she’s one of the biggest money-grubbing hawks for the war-making machine. She makes me want to vomit.

      She’s never met a defense budget increase she doesn’t like Disgusting!

      The “mom in tennis shoes”…my a**!!!!!

      Like

  2. Den says:

    Maybe I will move to Pluto. It’s too crazy here.

    Like

  3. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    As I was meandering around the house last night I started to feel not so good. 😦 Head seemed off, walking seem scary so I sat around. Sat on the front porch, caught myself falling asleep of all things! Made myself stand up and hung on to the rail, walked a bit and ended up sitting on the pool deck. Started to fall asleep again, even was doing that lucid dreaming thing. Got up and stood around, ended up sitting on the patio and started to fall asleep again. I finally gave up and went in since it seemed I was sick.

    I wasn’t in the house 5 minutes when I felt I had to throw up, went to the bathroom and did that. I CAN’T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I THREW UP! Holy mackeral! I’ve never thrown up from sickness as a grownup, never got sick. I did do that a couple times in my younger years when I had too much to drink.

    My insides, inside my arms, my legs and my head were all jiggly. I sat at the computer for awhile, started to fall asleep, so I went and laid on the bed. Didn’t fall asleep, of course. Back in here for a bit then I shut down around 12:30 a.m. and went out in front of the TV. Watched the last half of the Aerial America I was watching and went to bed. Bed felt sooooo good, except I didn’t dare take a shower since I was borderline dizzy and unsteady. I forgot I was icky and fell asleep.

    This morning, back to normal but by noon a tiny remnant of how I felt last night started up. A little quivery inside, and I’m tired. Sleepy right now in fact and it’s almost Beer-30. I may pass on that, not sure yet.

    Don’t know if I’ve ever had food poisoning, so I don’t know if what I experienced was that. All I ate yesterday was the food I cooked a few days ago. I had a breaded pork chop, mashed potatoes (with sour cream on top) and the broccoli I’d cooked.

    Flu? I had the flu once when I was a little kid, I think. I had it again back in the mid 90s and I was out of commission for 22 days! That’s when we had two video stores, I couldn’t go to work so Bob had to take off work and run the one store, the kids the other one. This thing last night kind of felt like that, but my legs aren’t weak, or sore, or whatever it was that made my legs feels bad.

    Guess we’ll see what tomorrow brings. I’m not used to being sick, I NEVER get sick. Never even had chickenpox. I DON’T LIKE THIS! I know I need to get used to is, I’m no spring chicken, but still. Don’t like it. 😦

    Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    I hope Trump and the bastards in Congress don’t get around to privatizing anything.

    Did I tell you that our governor signed a bill to make it legal to carry switchblades? Republicans everywhere are arming the citizens of this country. Gee, what could go wrong.

    Like

    • Den says:

      What was your color like? call the whoever doctor, tell him your symptoms ask if a stress test should be done, see how the ole ticker is doing, hopefully you have a non-brain-dead doctor that will refer you to a cardiologist for the stress test. (I had a Heart Attack @58yo.) If the stress test goes ok, I would suspect a seizure of some sort that might never occur again, or the results of a bacteria-laden pork chop.

      Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    The Birch & Barley via the optometrist’s office in 61 warm minutes. Two quail, other birds, two robins. Not many robins this year. The river is way down; I can see the bottom.

    Like

    • Den says:

      Specs are working satisfactorily I presume then.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Same time straight back which means it took 10 minutes more to return. Up the College Hill Climb and Maple Street Extension doesn’t take that much longer. Saw a rodent in the field across the river east of the Pullman Community Garden; too big to be a field mouse, slower and chubbier as well. Daily total is 122 minutes.

      Day 3: 114+122=236 minutes.

      Like

  6. Den says:

    Perhaps your pork chops were artificially inflated?

    Like

  7. Micki says:

    Think horses not zebras when one hears hoofbeats….but….

    A stroke that takes place in the cerebellum can cause abnormal reflexes of the head and torso, coordination and balance problems, dizziness, nausea and vomiting.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

