Sprite Sunday

SPRITES AND COSMIC RAYS: Last night, cameras in Czechia recorded a magnificent display of sprites leaping up from a thunderstorm in neighboring Austria. Photographer Martin Popek of Nýdek, Czechia, selected this specimen from many frames he recorded:

1a

Red Sprites And Sprites Halo Taken by martin popek on July 21, 2017 @ Nýdek, Czech republic

“The storm was about 390km away,” says Popek, “and the sprite was huge. It stretched 50 km to 90 km above the ground below.”

Sometimes called “space lightning,” sprites are a true space weather phenomenon. They inhabit the upper atmosphere alongside auroras, meteors and noctilucent clouds. Some researchers believe they are linked to cosmic rays: subatomic particles from deep space striking the top of Earth’s atmosphere produce secondary electrons that, in turn, could provide the spark that triggers sprites.
The link to cosmic rays is particularly interesting at this time. Despite a brief reduction in cosmic rays last week caused by the sweeping action of a passing CME, cosmic rays are intensifying. For the past two years, space weather balloons have observed a steady increase in deep space radiation penetrating our atmosphere. This increase is largely due to the decline in the solar cycle. Flagging solar wind pressure and weakening sunspot magnetic fields allow more cosmic rays into the inner solar system–a trend which is expected to continue for years to come. These changes could add up to more sprites.

Although sprites have been seen for at least a century, most scientists did not believe they existed until after 1989 when sprites were photographed by cameras onboard the space shuttle. Now “sprite chasers” routinely photograph sprites from their own homes. “I used up a Watec 910HX security camera with UFOCapture software to catch my sprites,” says Popek.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sprite Sunday

  1. Den says:

    I started to watch Stephanopolis but he had that liar rich boys’ lawyer and the other liar huckabee on for interviews.

    My question for the MSM is why they keep asking known liars questions expecting some sort of truth to pop out of their gaping pie-holes? WTF?

    They might as well interview Charlie Manson.

    Being that the MSM is a wholly-owned subsidiary of BIG PHARMA and the rest of Corpo-fascist state, it does make one wonder why all the lip service paid is just to keep an asshole infested group in control as long as possible pretending to actually give a shit to the people absorbing the BS.

    I don’t trust anything rolling out of the MSM, maybe that’s the way they want it.

    Like

    • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

      I stopped watching all the Sunday morning gab fests, like Meet the Press, because I was sick to death of them having mostly republican sociopaths on. Judging by your post, they haven’t changed.

      Like

  2. Den says:

    The jerk of the week award goes to the idiot in a Toyota Rav4 that decided to go real slow in a 55mph highway because a motorcycle was behind him, just to be an asshole. he kept looking back, If I had passed him on a double yellow he would have sped up to try and get my license plate number, then called it in to the Sheriff. Why? Because that is what they do here in assholeville all the time.

    Disgusting asshole redneck behavior experienced daily if one dares leave the house.

    Like

  3. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Just caught up with Wednesday’s post. I LOVED your poem, Den! I hate poetry, skim over it, but read yours…liked the style, not so…so poem-y. Not sure about the last line though, about wishing he would drop dead. Can one get in trouble for saying that? I’d like to post your poem on my page but the last line scares me.

    If I grow a pair, can I show my friends your work???

    Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Jim, if you learn anything positive from the NYT about eczema, let me know. I get locked out of the NYT all the time because I don’t pay them.

    Like

    • jimhitchcock says:

      It was about startups making eczema clothing.

      So I been getting 45 gram tubes of betamethazone for $20. Walgreens tells me they had the script wrong and we’re going to fill it with 2 15 gram tubes for a total of $109 something. I declined, and actually they’re full of shit, the script was for either 50 or 60 grams, which are not available.

      Like

    • Den says:

      Dump your NYT cookies, anything that sez TNYT – delete, that way they treat you like a newbie every time, the Guardian too, cookies hold visit count info, delete every week.

      Like

  5. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Saw your picture, Doc. Of course, I snagged it.

    Like

  6. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    YES! Den, move back to Minnesota! Like Micki said, you don’t have to schlep off to work every day and your house will be heated. Only cold from the house to the car. Winters don’t other me, I don’t have that much to shovel even though I bitch.

    I like all you said about it, yes, go back and dwell in the bosom of your family, get to know the grandson, spend time with your kids. Make them fall in love with you so they’ll be by your side as you age and need help. Oooo, I’m all excited about this news! You’ll be a lot closer to Michigan, maybe you’ll be able to come and visit!

    Like

  7. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Bob woke up dizzy today, soon as he opened his eyes. Jill came over around 11:00 to watch Fear the Walking Dead and Bob got dizzy again. We had to help him get up and to the bathroom. That was the last of it, he’s been ok every since. I had him take his blood pressure this morning and it was a little high, I would have expected low with the dizziness.

    He’s been taking 2 Norcos every 4 hours for his back, he only took one the last two times. Jill and I think that drug, and the stupid Ativan he started to take yesterday, did it. This humidity is awful for him, even w/ the A/C running full blast. It’s been horribly humid, just won’t let up. I’m a human humidity detecting machine, I can tell it’s still humid in here if I start to do something. I’ll get clammy immediately.

    All in all, Bob isn’t doing well. That’s how it goes with emphysema, it never gets better, only worse. I probably mentioned he’s with Hospice, and they are wonderful. Thank you, taxpayers. He has a nurse come visit him every week, Beth is a sweetheart and she can text Bob’s doctor and he actually replies to her. I only have to go to the drugstore for one of his drugs, FedEx delivers all the rest. They’ll send out anything he needs, and fast. He wanted to try one of those recliners that help you stand up, they delivered it the same day he asked for it. And when he told Beth it didn’t help his painful back, it was picked up that very day.

    So anyway, that’s life here at the ranch. I finished the mowing today, got the laundry done, cleaned the toilet, fed birds, took care of pool, blah, blah, blah. Yesterday Jill and I went to one of her and Pete’s high school friend’s parent’s 80th birthday party. Good people, love their kids who graduated w/ our kids. Jill brought little bottles of Margarita for us, WOO HOO! We’re going to go out with the birthday boy and his wife to a certain Mexican restaurant where he claims they have the best Margaritas, that they make them special for him and his wife. Can’t wait for that! Pete and Kerry, their son, will be our designated drivers, lol.

    Gotta go. Bob is up from his nap and ready for a movie.

    Like

  8. David B. Benson says:

    Up to 93.4 °F now. Noticeable.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Just 24 minutes to the Old Post Office. Along the way a crew has started taking up the railroad track. Odd that they are working on Sunday.

      Like

  9. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    I have not just one groundhog, or woodchuck, whatever they are, but two! This morning I was sitting on the couch, having my coffee, when I saw one sitting on the rail of the front deck, reaching down to my white garden phlox, eating it! I got two pictures of him before I opened the door and scared him so he jumped down.

    Later Jill was over and Quincy spotted two of them 10 feet from the front deck, ooo did he want to get out there, lol. One of them headed back to the deck to go under the bush next to it and Quincy was elated! Even more so when the second returned to the deck area, pausing to look Quincy right in the eye. Quincy would have loved for us to open the door and let him out. No way he could have got there, they would have been long gone.

    I still can’t believe the little shit was up on the deck rail, figured that out just so he could reach the flowers. The garden phlox is a tall plant.

    Like

  10. Den says:

    Woodchucker:

    Like

  11. Micki says:

    Our Barkley Bear is back in the ‘hood! The deer are scarce, so that’s a plus!

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

