Sunny Sunday

SOLAR WIND SPARKS AURORAS: For the third day in a row, a high-speed stream of solar wind is blowing around Earth. First contact on Aug. 4th rattled our planet’s magnetic field and produced a brief but intense display of auroras over Canada. Catalin Tapardel witnessed the outburst from Kakwa, Alberta:

1a

“I looked out the window at 4:30 am and was amazed by the Lady Aurora dancing above, high up in the sky, fighting the dawn,” says Tapardel. “I stormed the door, picked my camera up, in the process I forgot to grab the tripod, and everything was recorded hand-held.” He posted a 4k video of the display at the Alberta Aurora Chasers Facebook page.

Since then, the stream’s steady pressure has done little to upset the equilibrium of our planet’s magnetic field. No strong geomagnetic storms have been observed. NOAA forecasters say there is a 45% chance of minor geomagnetic storms on Aug. 6th.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Sunny Sunday

  1. Den says:

    Busy, busy up there in our atmosphere, go to Alaska for a ringside seat.

    Like

  2. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    Waiting for company, Bob’s brother and his wife. They’re bringing food. Good, I have zero interest in making dinner for company. I AM interested, however, in eating. 🙂 Can’t wait to see what they’re bringing.

    Like

  3. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    My desk looks sooo much better. Have finally been able to go thru the stuff I let pile up the past several weeks. Dealt with just about everything. Now I can dust, maybe tomorrow. Heck, I didn’t even bother to dust the living room for company. Meh.

    Like

  4. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    I swept the garage out this morning, trash gone, floor swept. WOO HOO! Now I’ll be able to get back to the Carol-izing.

    Like

  5. Micki says:

    An apple a day, keeps the doctor away…a motto to “live” by, IMO… 😉

    Just heard that a friend had, on Thursday, elective spinal surgery because of chronic low back pain, during which she had a massive stroke. Prognosis is not good. Husband and adult kids are beside themselves. Consent form mentions low risks of this, that and the other thing..possibility she will never be able to go home because he is in no condition to care for her and the kids live in far-flung states. All very concerned about wife/mom, but fear bankruptcy looms.

    Still smokey haze here, but not quite as bad.

    Like

    • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

      Oh, my god…poor lady. That catastrophe, and our stinkin’ health care system to make things even worse. 😦 Never be able to go home? Then there’s that problem, of where to put her and how to pay for it.

      Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    A not so fast 51 minutes to the Birch & Barley in the light haze. A small bird, smaller than Mrs Gladys Flicka Flycatcher, was eating insects off the trunk of a fir tree next door. Too speedy to tell if it was a child she raised. Haven’t seen her for several days.

    Oh yes, I keep my lower back pain under control, almost completely absent now, by exercise.

    Like

    • Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

      You’re lucky that works for you.

      Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Round trip was 111 minutes as going up College Hill Climb and Maple Street Extension is always slower than going down. Saw one robin nearby the city playfields, a pigeon on a wire and a few insect catchers.

      Like

  7. Carol ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ says:

    My sister-in-law walked in with a plastic bag. In it was an aluminum throw away pan with a meat loaf she tossed together. It was raw. I shoved it in the freezer.

    The other aluminum loaf pan had a raw banana bread in it. I shoved it in the fridge, so we starved until they left. Poor Bob, I try so hard to get him to eat, and several times during the day. I told her I wouldn’t be cooking, she said to not worry they would bring something. I figured it was going to be a meal. Bob’s sister and husband came last week and brought a ton of stuff from KFC, we ate like kings, for a couple days. Pete and family and Jill were here, there was plenty for everyone.

    Jill found a place that can transfer all Bob’s family’s 8mm films, and there’s a LOT of them. I did my family films by myself with a camcorder, a projector and it was transferred to a VHS tape. Later down the road, I had my Pinnacle program and digitized them thru that program can put them on a DVD now. I never did get around to Bob’s family, and now I never will. No ambition anymore for that sort of thing. It’s a lot of work, a LOT of work, especially constantly fighting with a projector.

    There are people out there now that can do that and they don’t even use a projector. When Jill found the first place Bob’s brother came over and she asked him if they’d like to kick in. When Jill told them how much it was going to be, they said that was too much. I think it was around $2,100.

    Bob’s sister’s husband last week said they’d be glad to kick in and then this past week Jill found a guy who will do it a LOT cheaper.

    Bob’s brother and Bob’s sister are multi-millionaires, Bob is the peasant of the family. When Bob’s brother left today I was so angry, started to get choked up. How could they be so cheap and not bring food? How can they be so cheap to not want to kick in for the films? *sigh* People are so disappointing. Either Bob’s brother, or Kathy’s husband could pay for all of it and not even blink. At least Uncle Ron is going to help, that’s something.

    Like

    • Den says:

      Effin wow.

      Like

    • Micki says:

      I would have told them to take the damned meatloaf home! How far away to they live? Is it hot weather? Did they keep the RAW meat at the right temperature? Freezing doesn’t always kill bad stuff. I’m ticked off on your behalf! And, I don’t want you to get sick. I bet once the old 8mm is all spiffed up, they’ll want a copy. Screw ’em.

      On that note…

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Den says:

    He wonders why it won’t die, he shot it 8,764 times, tell me about insanity again.

    Like

  9. jimhitchcock says:

    Having won 44 of their last 51 games, the Dodgers are now 79-32 on the season. I’m watching history, baby.

    Like

Express your views below, politely please.

