Sun Streams Sunday

The solar wind is flowing from an unusually large coronal hole on the sun, shown here in an image from NASA’s Solar Dynamics Observatory:

1a

Coronal holes are regions in the sun’s atmosphere where the magnetic field opens up and allows solar wind to escape. This hole is spewing a stream of solar wind so broad, it could influence Earth’s space environment for days to come. High-latitude sky watchers should remain alert for auroras throughout the weekend.

@ SPACEWEATHER

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sun Streams Sunday

  1. º¿carol says:

    David B. Benson says:
    September 2, 2016 at 12:40 PM

    Why do you carry a BIC?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I don’t carry one now, I quit smoking 9 years ago. I burn the trash and maybe I put it in my pocket and forgot about it, whereas I NEVER forget it and always put it back on the work bench in the garage. I have 3 lined up, two almost dead ones and a brand new one. One of the old ones is suddenly M.I.A. Hmm

    The mystery continues.

    Pete said I wouldn’t die in a fiery ball if the tractor blades hit it, I would be protected by the metal deck housing the blades. He told me that after I mowed everything. Still, it didn’t turn up so I could still hit it somehow out there.

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    Ok, all caught up on the last two days comments. I missed another day here yesterday, I HATE when that happens but life gets in the way, and that’s probably good. I need to be about the place and not constantly sitting here…while I still can.

    Pete’s came over yesterday. I don’t get to see Sara and Nicholas much anymore, not since they moved out here and have their own ranch. When they lived in Lansing they came out here all the time to get out of the city.

    Sara and Nancy (twins) birthdays are Sept 6. They like to go to Los Tres Amigos for their birthday dinner so tomorrow is the day and Pete will pick me up so I can have my Margaritas!!! I won’t have to drive, yay. Not that I would drink enough to get drunk, but best to not drive after drinking anything in this era.

    Still coolish here, didn’t need the A/C again yesterday, nor today. Saving a few bucks on electricity, thank goodness.

    Dying my hair right now, I’ll look at lot better soon. Waited too long, 36 days since the last dye job and I had a white streak across the top of my head, lol.

    Like

  3. jimhitchcock says:

    Rudy Chipmunk Guliani on CNN:

    “Food stamps have gone up 2 1/2 times undah, undah, food stamps have gone up 2 1/2 times under Obama, he should be ashamed of himself!’

    Good job with the proxy voices, Donald, you fucking lunatic.

    Like

  4. º¿carol says:

    I’m all caught up on the internet and it’s finally beer-30, time to outside for an hour, or so. Have to start going out earlier and earlier, now I better get my butt out there before 8:00, like 7:45. Two minutes late now because I had to come here first.

    Like

  5. jimhitchcock says:

    Alright, the Dodgers won today, Giants lost.

    Go ahead and hit me with the banhammer, Den, I will think no less of you.

    Like

    • Den says:

      13 innings, jeez.

      You must have mistaken me for a rabid fan, just local, I watch occasionally so I assure you that no written harm will befall you.

      Like

  6. Den says:

    Brew dog!

    Like

Comments are closed.