FooNeyFuuNeze

1a1b1c1d1f1g1i

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to FooNeyFuuNeze

  1. micki says:

    Well…the world hasn’t unraveled yet…

    Cells of elderly sedentary women look much older than their actual age, study finds.

    WEDNESDAY, Jan. 18, 2017 (HealthDay News) — You might age a lot faster if you sit too much, a new study warns.

    Researchers who assessed nearly 1,500 older women found those who sat most of the day and got little exercise had cells that were biologically older by eight years than the women’s actual age.

    “Our study found cells age faster with a sedentary lifestyle. Chronological age doesn’t always match biological age,” said lead author Aladdin Shadyab. He’s from the University of California, San Diego’s School of Medicine.

    The women, aged 64 to 95, answered questionnaires and wore a device for seven days to track their activity levels.

    The study doesn’t establish a cause-and-effect relationship between accelerated aging and lack of exercise.

    Still, “discussions about the benefits of exercise should start when we are young, and physical activity should continue to be part of our daily lives as we get older, even at 80 years old,” Shadyab said in a university news release.

    Specifically, the researchers found that women who sat for more than 10 hours a day and got less than 40 minutes of moderate-to-vigorous physical activity daily had shorter telomeres. These are caps on the end of DNA strands that protect chromosomes from deterioration.

    Telomeres naturally shorten with age, but health and lifestyle factors — such as smoking and obesity — can accelerate the process. Shortened telomeres are linked with heart disease, diabetes and cancer, the researchers explained in background notes.

    “We found that women who sat longer did not have shorter telomere length if they exercised for at least 30 minutes a day, the national recommended guideline,” Shadyab said.

    He and his colleagues plan future studies to examine the link between exercise and telomere length in younger adults and in men.

    The study was published online Jan. 18 in the American Journal of Epidemiology.

    Like

  2. David B. Benson says:

    Will The Donald be worse than Buchanan?

    Like

  3. David B. Benson says:

    David Brooks was particularly cogent in today’s TNYT.

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Using a scoop to break the ice on the front steps. About 2/3rds done but needed a rest.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Oof! All done as it is gonna get done…

      Like

      • º¿carol says:

        Weird how your weather is worse than ours. It’s still in the 40s during the day, just rain off and on. I made the mistake of driving around the garage on the grass to drop Bob off close to the house yesterday. I made ruts! 😦 That’s how warmish it’s been here.

        Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      The rest will, but I have to be able to go down the stairs in order to go to the grocery store to buy rock salt.

      Don’t want to use salt anyway.

      Like

      • Den says:

        Salt small pellets work best, they spread more even and don’t leave so much residue.

        Like

      • º¿carol says:

        I always have the cheapest table salt, the kind that isn’t iodized. I keep several near the back door, and now one inside the garage door. I will only salt with fine, table salt. That way no feet drag chunks of salt into the house, or into the car. I only pepper the actual areas where my feet go when walking out the back door to the garage.

        Like

  5. David B. Benson says:

    Past critical.

    How bad is that?

    Like

  6. Den says:

    Carol, hows Bob doing today?

    Like

    • º¿carol says:

      He’s been much better today, I’m very relieved. You many have been right about being in the hospital, knocking one for a loop.

      He’s sat in chairs all day, and he’s been upbeat. An old friend called him and he actually had a lilt in his voice, sounded happy. YAY! He’s having a good day.

      We went over the bills I took care, the programs he uses to track everything, I did an excellent job. One questionable thing that we’ll unravel when that bill rolls in again. From now on I’ll take care of the bills, I have to learn to be comfortable doing it.

      Like

  7. º¿carol says:

    Been going up the news feed on FB off and on all day. For the past hour my head feels weird, I think my blood pressure must have gone up, lol. Head feels like it did the couple times in my life I had the flu.

    So much to read today, lots popping up in the news feed. Then there are the FB friends that voted for Trump who are gloating. It’s so hard to keep my mouth shut, but I have to. I did get into it a little with one, but I merely presented facts when all I wanted to do was call them ignorant, grammar/spelling impaired ignoramuses, lol.

    A friend of the person I was actually talking to wrote this:

    “Why is everyone having to say Republicans are this and Democrats are this!! Sorry we are humans with different views. I do not tolerate violence from anyone. Like I said above it is your right to protest as long as it is peaceful. If woman feel they need to march tomorrow that is their right. Why I don’t get it myself but hey if it makes them feel better to March then good for them. I myself have know problem with our New POUS. Hell if he can do what he says he can do I am all in. I for one would love for the Government to work for us like it should be and America should always come first!”

    Like

    • Den says:

      An obviously deluded person in need a critical thinking implant, or clean his glasses.

      Make America backward again! NOT!

      Like

      • º¿carol says:

        It was a woman that wrote that.

        I’ve learned on FB just how friends add up. If a person on there is right-wing ignorant, 99% of their friends that comment are just like them. Same holds for me, in my list of 97 FB friends only about 12 are on the right, and I only know for sure that 6 of them are because they make comments, the others never post anything. The rest of my friends are like you guys, smart and able to write in proper English. Oh, and you can spell!

        Seems to follow that if you’re on the right, you’re pretty ignorant all the way around and are, of course, a Christian.

        Like

  8. Den says:

    Carol I actually feel myself becoming ill scrolling FB, I’m taking a break away from it and will rely on Democracy Now for my info for a while.

    Tim thinks we are whining cause Ole hIll lost, NOT! it’s because rich boy won, duh! I don’t think any of us really liked her, just held our nose and voted so rich boy would not win but a strong effort to repress the votes worked so well it even beat the popular vote for the idiot win.
    Now he and MM Ryan will disassemble everything good ever created, I don’t need the FB blow-by-blow scroll. It is a shameful episode in American history, I hope we can survive.

    Like

    • jimhitchcock says:

      Little Feat message to The Donnie voters:

      Trying to remember the one line from your favorite song? Always wanted to know what the chorus REALLY is? Check out the complete LittleFeat lyrics database here.

      Tripe Face Boogie

      — B. Payne, R. Hayward 

      Well I was buffaloed in Buffalo 
      And I was entertained in Houston 
      New York, yew nork, you got to choose one 
      Cause it’s a tripe face boogie 
      Going to boogie my sneakers away 
        
      Well I don’t want your money 
      And I don’t want your time 
      Please don’t tripe me honey and I’ll give you 
      Give you back your dime 
        
      It’s a hype face boogie 
      going to boogie my sneakers away 
        
      Now I don’t dig potato chips 
      And I can’t dig torts 
      Well tripe my guacamole baby (it’s a guaca) 
      Tripe my shorts 
      It’s a tripe face boogie gonna boogie my sneakers away 
        
      It’s a hype boogie, tripe boogie, hype boogie 
      All night long 
        
      You bring your guitar, I’ll bring the wine 
      We’ll tripe my guacamole baby just a one more time 
      It’s a hype boogie 
      I said give tripe face his way 
      I said lookout! 
      I said give tripe face away 
      I said lookout! 
      I said give tripe face away

      Like

  9. Den says:

    You talking to me? Huh?

    Like

Comments are closed.