Monday Mourning Munchies

1a

Breakfast of Champions

Less than two weeks ago, I suddenly lost a friend. On his 39th birthday, Andy drowned during a beach vacation with his family. The loss of someone so young and vital and full of life has sent shockwaves through our sleepy southern town.

Following the accident, the community has rallied around his widow and year-old son, donating money for funeral expenses and struggling together to come to terms with the tragedy. And while there are truly no words a person can say to ease the pain of losing a loved one, there are specific things we can do.

One of them is cooking. I don’t know if it’s a southern thing, a farm community thing, or maybe it’s just old-fashioned, but where I come from, when someone dies, the casserole dishes start coming out almost before anyone’s called the coroner.

@ TG

About Den

Always in search of interesting things to post. Armed with knowledge and dangerous with the ladies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday Mourning Munchies

  1. º¿carol says:

    Yup, that would probably be me, cooking a casserole for someone who lost a loved one. Good thing I don’t have any friends close by, I’M SAVED!

    Like

  2. º¿carol says:

    The cooking is ALL behind me now:

    Pete & Sara’s anniversary party…check
    Diane’s week visit…check
    In-laws over…check

    So, of course I got out my frozen chuck roasts to make Horseradish Pot Roast sometime this week. Well, you know, have to keep feeding us.

    But today? I GET A BREAK! No cooking and no Quincy! Jill didn’t feel good yesterday, or this morning so she didn’t go to work. Quincy got to stay home with his mom, and tomorrow is Jill’s normal day off so no Quincy again! Yay! TWO DAYS OFF! I think later I might work on the garage. Need to get that straightened up again.

    Off to read the news…

    Like

  3. Den says:

    Convention madness, pointless drivel, people are tired of BS, Den included.

    “Let me hear it for Jesus!” “Amen!” (actually heard from a speaker there)

    Hoo boy…

    Like

  4. David B. Benson says:

    Taking the longer route past the hillside in flower, some are pea plants, and then a quail, it took 22 minutes to the Black Cypress. Having pesto pasta dinner.

    Like

    • David B. Benson says:

      Back home via the College Hill Climb for a daily total of 46 minutes.

      Day 2: 45+46=91 minutes.

      Like

  5. Den says:

    PacMan stopped by for a visit

    Like

  6. David B. Benson says:

    Two more CFL lights quit. I picked up a pair of Sylvania LED lights for $3.99 each. These are exact replacements for 60 watt incandescent bulbs, down to the shape.

    Like

Comments are closed.